Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Firmware down grade V2

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default Firmware down grade V2

    Hello,

    I know it has been asked before, Is there anyway to 'force' a firmware downgrade? I find it hard to believe that it can't be done. And if not possible, on what chip is the firmware stored?

    Matt

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member SS2win's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    355

    Default

    It has always been stated that no reversals are allowed or even supported. Did you loose something? What is the reason behind wanting to downgrade?
    2001 Camaro SS #2020
    Stock LS1 w/InconTT | REV Springs | Ti retainers | M6 | McLeod Twin Clutch
    UMI RR K Member | SLP Subframe Connectors | Global West TA | BMR PHB | Metco LCA
    996 Brake Kit| 17" CCW Classics | 17x11 ZR1 Replicas on all four corners

    425@6lbs | ???@12lbs | EFILive Custom OS3 | !MAF | SD
    11.73@12x/1.7 on worn out nittos... yaaawn!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I just bought a used V2 for cheap, my first v2 has unlimited LS1B stream but the USB doesn't work and is not repairable, I have send it out. So the firmware of that one can't be updated anymore. The 'new' one was accidentally updated. For the tunes to work, i need use an older version of 7.5, 299. But that one isn't compatible with the newer firmware. so i would like to downgrade the 'new' one to math my old one

  4. #4
    Diesel Forum Support Site Admin
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,711

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derkscustomcars View Post
    I just bought a used V2 for cheap, my first v2 has unlimited LS1B stream but the USB doesn't work and is not repairable, I have send it out. So the firmware of that one can't be updated anymore. The 'new' one was accidentally updated. For the tunes to work, i need use an older version of 7.5, 299. But that one isn't compatible with the newer firmware. so i would like to downgrade the 'new' one to math my old one
    Old tune file formats can be compatible with new firmware. Open the tune file, press save to update the format and you are good to go.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default

    i realize that but accidentally upgraded the v2 i just bought and i would like to use both side by side, as soon as i upgrade my v7.5, the files generated by that won't work with my old V2 with the LS1B stream

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,795

    Default

    It's not supported and not much else you can do. Cindy provided an option to upgrade your tune files, but once the FW on a V2/AC is updated, there's no going back. All modern software development is "fix-forward", newer firmwares and software versions have both new functionality and defect fixes so there's not a reason to use an old one.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I figured it out, I will run virtual PC on my laptop and install the older version and the new one.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 13th, 2019, 12:25 AM
  2. Brake Tap Grade Braking
    By killerbee in forum Duramax LLY
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: October 7th, 2009, 02:51 PM
  3. Firmware 2.06.10?
    By samh_08 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: May 27th, 2009, 11:02 AM
  4. new firmware help-please!!
    By dynarex in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: January 14th, 2007, 10:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •