Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2012 Speed Limiter Not Working

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    79

    Default 2012 Speed Limiter Not Working

    I had a customer request a 105kph speed limit be installed, I changed both limiters to 105kph and it doesn't seem to be working. Anyone ran into this before?

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Your most likely using someone's modified file that has changes your not aware of....

  3. #3
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    Mike, is the Ram like some GM vehicles where the vehicle speed limiter is not actually controlled by the ECM?
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    Mike, is the Ram like some GM vehicles where the vehicle speed limiter is not actually controlled by the ECM?
    My knowledge is it is controlled solely with the ecm, but like GM you can change how it is controlled within the ecm. So if you are using a file that has it turned off then you will not be able to use the speed limiter tables or changing them will have no control.

  5. #5
    New Member CumminsTwang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Halfway through the 2016 model year, Cummins made a logic change inside the ECM. Many things, inside of Ram tuning changed to flash only. Other things, like speed limit changed from a calibratable to a trim. Trims can be changed realtime. Calibratables need to be flashed. One thing about trims...when you key off they reset to the stock values. Therefore, the speedlimit needs to be changed EVERY time the vehicle is keyed off... Hope this helps!!

    Respectfully,

    PCS Tuning
    ATI Vision - Calterm - EFI Live - HP Tuners - Advantage III - EZ Lynk - Alientech

    DAF/Paccar - LD/MD/HD Cummins - Powerstroke - Duramax

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CumminsTwang View Post
    Halfway through the 2016 model year, Cummins made a logic change inside the ECM. Many things, inside of Ram tuning changed to flash only. Other things, like speed limit changed from a calibratable to a trim. Trims can be changed realtime. Calibratables need to be flashed. One thing about trims...when you key off they reset to the stock values. Therefore, the speedlimit needs to be changed EVERY time the vehicle is keyed off... Hope this helps!!

    Respectfully,

    PCS Tuning
    If you make changes while the calibration is loaded into ram then it will revert back when the power is cycled. When you flash a calibration what in that calibration gets loaded into ram...

  7. #7
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CumminsTwang View Post
    Trims can be changed realtime. Calibratables need to be flashed.
    As far as I know the trims (or any realtime changes) can only be done over J1939, for 99% of our customer base they are using the OBD-II port so such features aren't available.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  8. #8
    New Member CumminsTwang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    The speed limit parameters reset every time a power cycle event occurs. Anything that is a trim will reset during the power cycle events. That is why it will not take effect. If you notice the newer truck will not accept timing, fueling, etc changes until it is flashed... I assume they pulled this functionality out with a calibration/software upgrade.
    ATI Vision - Calterm - EFI Live - HP Tuners - Advantage III - EZ Lynk - Alientech

    DAF/Paccar - LD/MD/HD Cummins - Powerstroke - Duramax

Similar Threads

  1. 2012 Cruze E78 Rev Limiter Question
    By SBELGIO in forum E78, E83, E84 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: August 30th, 2017, 03:07 PM
  2. LML Speed Limiter changes not working
    By madmanmartin in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 30th, 2016, 04:27 AM
  3. LB7 Speed Limiter/ High speed defuel???
    By larski156 in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 28th, 2016, 10:11 AM
  4. 2012 Cruze E78 Rev Limiter Question
    By SBELGIO in forum E39, E80, E82 & E92 SIDI ECM's
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2014, 12:04 PM
  5. Got the 2-step limiter working today
    By DoghouseDiesel in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2011, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •