Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Testing a V2 without a vehicle?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default Testing a V2 without a vehicle?

    Hello,
    I found a used V2 for sale that I am interested in purchasing. The GM vehicle which it will be used on is all apart so I can't very well test it using that vehicle. Is there a way to test the V2 by plugging it into a computer that has the EFI Live software on it?

    Thank you for any help.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,777

    Default

    You can test the USB portion and that the FS V2 powers on, plus licensing, etc. I dont know if there's a way to test the vehicle comm protocols without connecting to an actual vehicle though.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,709

    Default

    Do you have access to any GM vehicle...?

    What year/model/vehicle is yiur car (the one that is apart)...?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Erik, thank you for your help.

    Joe, I don't have access to any GM vehicle. The one that is apart is a 2008 GMC Yukon XL.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Where are you located? Is the V2 near you or in another state?

    As mentioned, You can plug into a computer with EFI live software installed to see the license details and make sure the unit works.

    As far as the actual flashing portion, You would need a bench harness and an ECU to test. If it reads an ECU it will likely Flash an ECU. Other wise it would have to be plugged into a GM vehicle to see if it reads.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1FastBrick View Post
    Where are you located? Is the V2 near you or in another state?

    As mentioned, You can plug into a computer with EFI live software installed to see the license details and make sure the unit works.

    As far as the actual flashing portion, You would need a bench harness and an ECU to test. If it reads an ECU it will likely Flash an ECU. Other wise it would have to be plugged into a GM vehicle to see if it reads.
    Thank you for your help.

    I am in Knoxville, TN.

    There have been a few used FlashScan V2s that have come and gone. They have been distant from where I live.

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic vehicle testing
    By Biodiesel66 in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 26th, 2015, 01:39 AM
  2. Testing wireless...
    By joecar in forum Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2008, 03:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •