Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Testing a V2 without a vehicle?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    5

    Default Testing a V2 without a vehicle?

    Hello,
    I found a used V2 for sale that I am interested in purchasing. The GM vehicle which it will be used on is all apart so I can't very well test it using that vehicle. Is there a way to test the V2 by plugging it into a computer that has the EFI Live software on it?

    Thank you for any help.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,768

    Default

    You can test the USB portion and that the FS V2 powers on, plus licensing, etc. I dont know if there's a way to test the vehicle comm protocols without connecting to an actual vehicle though.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,668

    Default

    Do you have access to any GM vehicle...?

    What year/model/vehicle is yiur car (the one that is apart)...?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Erik, thank you for your help.

    Joe, I don't have access to any GM vehicle. The one that is apart is a 2008 GMC Yukon XL.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Where are you located? Is the V2 near you or in another state?

    As mentioned, You can plug into a computer with EFI live software installed to see the license details and make sure the unit works.

    As far as the actual flashing portion, You would need a bench harness and an ECU to test. If it reads an ECU it will likely Flash an ECU. Other wise it would have to be plugged into a GM vehicle to see if it reads.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1FastBrick View Post
    Where are you located? Is the V2 near you or in another state?

    As mentioned, You can plug into a computer with EFI live software installed to see the license details and make sure the unit works.

    As far as the actual flashing portion, You would need a bench harness and an ECU to test. If it reads an ECU it will likely Flash an ECU. Other wise it would have to be plugged into a GM vehicle to see if it reads.
    Thank you for your help.

    I am in Knoxville, TN.

    There have been a few used FlashScan V2s that have come and gone. They have been distant from where I live.

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic vehicle testing
    By Biodiesel66 in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 26th, 2015, 01:39 AM
  2. Testing wireless...
    By joecar in forum Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2008, 03:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •