Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VIN Change Not Updating

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    192

    Exclamation VIN Change Not Updating

    So when I change the VIN (either in v.75 or Tune Tool Properties) the original VIN is still showing in the TCM when I perform an F2: Read. I have done a Cal Flash, Full Flash and a Flash in V2. It doesn't matter. As soon as I pull the calibration the original VIN shows up again in the TCM. It even shows the original VIN in the V.5 "Show PCM Info" pop up.

    Software and Firmware are up to date. Any ideas? Is this some new GM witchcraft to keep the original VIN locked in the TCM?
    Last edited by TBMSport; November 26th, 2019 at 12:38 PM.
    Trailblazer "RS" 5.3L 6L80 4x4 & '07 TBSS LS2 6L90 AWD

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,967

    Default

    What TCM model?
    A new VIN is only stored in RAM until the TCM (or ECM) powers down, eg, IGN Off. If you aren't waiting long enough (say 10 - 20 seconds) when the IGN is turned off or if on a bench set up the TCM is losing main power then it will never write the new VIN.


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    192

    Default

    I am doing benchtop. I am waiting the required 15-20 seconds. I am waiting minutes. I am waiting hours. I am turning switch ignition off, with main power still on. I am doing all kinds of combinations. No matter what, when I hit the change VIN, I don't even see any lights flicker on the V2 or hear the T43 make a noise. It's as if the command is not executing. The calibrations are going in and out, but the VIN just will not change in the main data sector. T43 model 24241890
    Last edited by TBMSport; November 26th, 2019 at 07:43 PM.
    Trailblazer "RS" 5.3L 6L80 4x4 & '07 TBSS LS2 6L90 AWD

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture1.PNG 
Views:	54 
Size:	59.9 KB 
ID:	23101
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	54 
Size:	104.9 KB 
ID:	23102
    Trailblazer "RS" 5.3L 6L80 4x4 & '07 TBSS LS2 6L90 AWD

  5. #5
    Diesel Forum Support Site Admin
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    I get that same access violation as you. In future versions of V8, the [F4: Properties] window will be disabled until a tune file is open. You should be prevented from using all functions that screen unless there is a tune file open.

    Ross will respond shortly on the rest of your items.

    Cheers
    Cindy

  6. #6
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,967

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TBMSport View Post
    I am doing benchtop. I am waiting the required 15-20 seconds. I am waiting minutes. I am waiting hours.
    20 seconds should be plenty

    Quote Originally Posted by TBMSport View Post
    I am turning switch ignition off, with main power still on. I am doing all kinds of combinations. No matter what, when I hit the change VIN, I don't even see any lights flicker on the V2 or hear the T43 make a noise.
    Ok good, appreciate that on so many occasions the reason the VIN will not 'stick' is because of people not having the correct bench power setups which I went I had to mention that.

    Quote Originally Posted by TBMSport View Post
    It's as if the command is not executing. The calibrations are going in and out, but the VIN just will not change in the main data sector. T43 model 24241890
    Something to note, on every GM ECM the VIN is not changed during a flash, think of how inconvenient that would be for people.
    The only way to change it is via the specific VIN change commands.
    I will go dig up a T43 and test the function here and report back to you (though I don't know what P/N ours are). When you are in V7 using the VIN change option you should indeed see the V2 LED's flicker when the messages are being sent so your observation would indicate there is an issue there.
    The VIN change done to the file in V8 is only for the file, this is not written to the TCM during a flash (as mentioned above).


  7. #7
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,967

    Default

    My test just now indicates everything is working as expected in V7 (using TCM P/N 24239352 with OS 24270599 in it).

    Check current VIN:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TCM_Orig_VIN.png 
Views:	52 
Size:	24.2 KB 
ID:	23103

    Program New VIN:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TCM_Change_VIN.png 
Views:	51 
Size:	30.5 KB 
ID:	23104

    Check new VIN after power cycle:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TCM_New_VIN.png 
Views:	48 
Size:	75.7 KB 
ID:	23105

    Can we just confirm that for you using the process above you never see the VIN change on screen? (Ignore what the .ctz file has in it for the moment).

    Cheers,
    Ross


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Ok 2 things are drastically different.

    When using V8, this is what I am doing and encountering. I READ the TCM, do the ignition shutoff, let it countdown, let the file open up and then go to F4:Properties. I click the "..."button to change the VIN. I change the VIN. I click UPDATE CHECK DIGIT and/or CHANGE VIN. It instantly changes the OLD VIN field, but shows no other indication of communicating with the V2 or TCM

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	43 
Size:	73.0 KB 
ID:	23106
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture4.PNG 
Views:	38 
Size:	87.3 KB 
ID:	23107


    When I go in via 7.5, I open the file but I don't get the PCM SECURITY menu option
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture5.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	56.1 KB 
ID:	23108

    So when I attempt to READ the module I get this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture3.PNG 
Views:	42 
Size:	83.8 KB 
ID:	23109

    Oddly after I click ok, then the data window goes away and then magically the PCM SERCURITY option is available:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture6.png 
Views:	38 
Size:	35.8 KB 
ID:	23110

    I put the VIN in and attempt to have it update and I get this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture7.PNG 
Views:	40 
Size:	43.1 KB 
ID:	23111
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture8.PNG 
Views:	39 
Size:	36.0 KB 
ID:	23112

    I've attempted this on 2 different laptops, so I feel as if there is an issue with the V2 or a configuration of it.
    Trailblazer "RS" 5.3L 6L80 4x4 & '07 TBSS LS2 6L90 AWD

  9. #9
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,967

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TBMSport View Post
    When using V8, this is what I am doing and encountering. I READ the TCM, do the ignition shutoff, let it countdown, let the file open up and then go to F4:Properties. I click the "..."button to change the VIN. I change the VIN. I click UPDATE CHECK DIGIT and/or CHANGE VIN. It instantly changes the OLD VIN field, but shows no other indication of communicating with the V2 or TCM
    This only changes the meta data in the file, it is not used for changing the VIN in the TCM.
    As I mentioned above, the VIN is not changed during a flash so changing the VIN in the file (which is all this is doing) will not result in the TCM VIN changing.


    Quote Originally Posted by TBMSport View Post
    When I go in via 7.5, I open the file but I don't get the PCM SECURITY menu option
    I'm not sure what is happening there but maybe this work around will fix it.
    Instead of opening a T43 file, open something like an E38.
    Then click on the PCM Security icon (which should be available when an E38 is loaded).
    From there you can manually select the T43 and see if you get a different result.

    Cheers,
    Ross


  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    192

    Default

    ROSS!!! YOU BRILLIANT, HANDSOME, MAGNIFICENT MAN, YOU!! *BIG HUG* THANK YOU! Fixed! Now I just have to remember to do it this way!
    Trailblazer "RS" 5.3L 6L80 4x4 & '07 TBSS LS2 6L90 AWD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VIN change
    By zittman in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 16th, 2019, 03:06 AM
  2. VIN Change
    By D_Met in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 24th, 2018, 12:34 PM
  3. just change the vin
    By reece11 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 28th, 2014, 03:59 PM
  4. VIN Change
    By chrleb2 in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 16th, 2011, 11:38 PM
  5. cant change VIN
    By Samdogmx in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 12th, 2007, 11:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •