Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Succesfull Patch and Tune Install Cm2200 $0549

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default Succesfull Patch and Tune Install Cm2200 $0549

    2011 6.7 Cummins Cab and Chassis 5500 Manual

    Last night I put on the CM220A_BootRSA_Patch_Manual on my V2. Plugged into pickup and installed, had to activate the license per usual. Everything went good, I then went and got my file supplied from my tuner onto my v2 and installed successfully. After key off for a couple minutes. I tried to start the pickup and nothing. I contacted my tuner and he sent me a stock file to try(11301130AK-90030-2011 4500 CAB DP 6.7L MANUAL 50S.)
    When trying to install that, i get $0549 ignition off. Well the key is 2 clicks ahead in the run position. I have tried it several times and nothing. Check all fuses-good.

    Pickup was 100% stock before doing this and was obviously running. Used snap on to read the codes and i have attached that report. I have read all day over the internet and not really finding anything to try and i can't quit tell i have an answer.

    Closest thing i could find to help me is the below post where it seems like the op had the same problem as me but didn't really have a solution besides an ECM. This was back in 2012 so I am hoping someone has a better answer or idea now for recovery.

    I have bench force here but no don't have the correct connectors. I would make a harness but not sure how to hook up to the bench force-i have the pinout of the ecm

    https://forum.efilive.com/showthread...hlight=%240549
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	unnamed.png 
Views:	19 
Size:	165.6 KB 
ID:	23047  

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    $0549 usually does mean the tune you've put in has caused the ECM to brick, they can be recovered but you have to force the ECM to bootmode. Given you have the bench force set up you can ask them to supply a harness that allows you to force the ECM to bootmode where you should be able to recover it.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hey thanks a lot for replying right away, I was hoping you would be available but I was skeptical with the weekend.
    I only have the bench force 2 that doesn't do the rom. I've done a lot of reading and educating myself so correct me if im wrong. I need the following:
    https://bench-force.com/collections/...witch-assembly

    and

    https://bench-force.com/products/eng...18292376371258


    Is it worth pulling the ecm and making a direct connection from the v2 to the pins on the ecm to try to communicate to rule out in other issue?

  4. #4
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    Well first thing you need to understand is if there is an issue with that modified tune then the ECM will just brick again once you recover it and flash that tune back in, so maybe not use it until you somehow know it is all good.
    Depending on how much all that bench force stuff costs there is another alternative if you want to send the ECM away to someone who already has the bootrom setup? It's really not something you would ever need.

    I wouldn't bother making the connections to the V2 pins directly, I'm pretty sure it is the tune that has put it in to this state.
    I'd offer to test the tune on our bench ECM's here because we can recover them but the tuner probably doesn't want the file passed around (which is understandable), but I think you'd like to know the cause of this right?

    Cheers,
    Ross
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    Well first thing you need to understand is if there is an issue with that modified tune then the ECM will just brick again once you recover it and flash that tune back in, so maybe not use it until you somehow know it is all good.
    Depending on how much all that bench force stuff costs there is another alternative if you want to send the ECM away to someone who already has the bootrom setup? It's really not something you would ever need.

    I wouldn't bother making the connections to the V2 pins directly, I'm pretty sure it is the tune that has put it in to this state.
    I'd offer to test the tune on our bench ECM's here because we can recover them but the tuner probably doesn't want the file passed around (which is understandable), but I think you'd like to know the cause of this right?

    Cheers,
    Ross
    Test it please. I not had any issues with it, but maybe there is.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default

    What email can I send the file to Ross?
    What do you use to recover the ecm’s?

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tptuning View Post
    What email can I send the file to Ross?
    What do you use to recover the ecm’s?
    I will send Ross the file. I have already compared bin to bin and they lay over correctly and I see nothing out side of the config file changed. We will let Ross convert the ctz file and see if something has gone bad. This will be the first CM2200 I have ever seen in ROM boot mode, and I have seen guys be pretty nasty with them. I have a subscription to oem software if needed but I have a feeling once on the bench it will be talking enough to recover with out Rom boot.

  8. #8
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    Conversation taken to Email for those following along.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


Similar Threads

  1. 0549 code
    By Cwalt50 in forum Cummins HD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2018, 09:55 PM
  2. Dead ECM $0549
    By comnrailpwr in forum Cummins 6.7L
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2016, 12:03 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2014, 12:52 PM
  4. 0549 code when trying to reflash
    By skneeland in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: July 28th, 2013, 01:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •