Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Calc_pids

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Gregs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    304

    Default Calc_pids

    Hey guys,

    I have a new computer and I lost my calc_pids file that was working. In the past I've had really bad luck getting my calc_pids.txt right. I've tried about a dozen calc_pids.txt files that i've fond but none will show the pids to select them. It's almost as if the scantool is ignoring the calcpid files that I load because with the different files I never see additional pids that are available to select.

    Does anyone have a known working file for LS1B? I would try to modify it to work for my situation. I'm trying to take my AEM analog wideband signal into the scantool.

    -Using V7.5.28
    -file location: C:\Program Files (x86)\EFILive\V7.5\Installation Defaults\User Configuration


    Thanks,
    Greg

    03 Silverado 5.3 ECSB 4x4 Z71
    Comp Cam 206/212 .515/.522 112 lSA, hardened rods with LS9 springs

    2010 Tahoe VVT AFM 5.3
    Stock for now

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I think what you need is a .pid file located in the PIDs folder, not the calc_pids file under User Configuration. I struggled with this for days, still don't understand it really but attached one that at least allows you to select the PID in the scan tool.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Gregs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macanic21 View Post
    I think what you need is a .pid file located in the PIDs folder, not the calc_pids file under User Configuration. I struggled with this for days, still don't understand it really but attached one that at least allows you to select the PID in the scan tool.
    got it figured out!

    Short story: There are two calc_pids.txt files. The one you need to modify is located in C:\Users\<username>\Documents\EFILive\V7.5\User Configuration

    Long story: I put the two files you sent me into the folder on the c drive and noticed that the "pid LS1.pid" file didn't show up when I went to open in the scantool. I then looked carefully at the folder path the scantool was showing and realized there are identical files kept in the efilive folder kept in "My Documents". There's also another "User Configuration" folder in there identical to the one kept on the c drive under program files.

    Thanks for the help!

    03 Silverado 5.3 ECSB 4x4 Z71
    Comp Cam 206/212 .515/.522 112 lSA, hardened rods with LS9 springs

    2010 Tahoe VVT AFM 5.3
    Stock for now

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,987

    Default

    You got it going...?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I have had no luck getting calc_pids to work. Any other advice? I tried to write my own as per the tutorial as well as save several from the forum to my user configuration file. Nothing seems to make them appear. ???

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,987

    Default

    Post your calc_pids.txt file here, let me have a look.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Gregs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    304

    Default

    I gave up on this but am at the point where I need a calc_pids file for my 2010 tahoe 5.3. It's an E38 controller. I need something that I can use with my AEM wideband with analog output.

    03 Silverado 5.3 ECSB 4x4 Z71
    Comp Cam 206/212 .515/.522 112 lSA, hardened rods with LS9 springs

    2010 Tahoe VVT AFM 5.3
    Stock for now

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,987

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by macanic21 View Post
    I think what you need is a .pid file located in the PIDs folder, not the calc_pids file under User Configuration. I struggled with this for days, still don't understand it really but attached one that at least allows you to select the PID in the scan tool.
    You have to remember to add CALC.ERROR as a percentage to VE (i.e. add (VE * {CALC.ERROR} / 100) to VE)...

    it is simpler to define CALC.BEN as {CALC.AEM_AFR}/{GM.AFR} and multiply VE by it.

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,987

    Default

    I like to use {CALC.AEM_AFR}*{GM.EQIVRATIO}.

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,987

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gregs View Post
    I gave up on this but am at the point where I need a calc_pids file for my 2010 tahoe 5.3. It's an E38 controller. I need something that I can use with my AEM wideband with analog output.
    Those pids won't work for E38... instead of GM.AFR or GM.EQIVRATIO, use SAE.LAMBDA, but you have to check its sense (whether it is really lambda or really EQR), and then either divide or multiply by it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. creating calc_pids
    By grayphoenix85 in forum Petrol / Gas
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: April 28th, 2019, 10:32 AM
  2. Issues with Calc_pids.txt
    By s10mods in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 28th, 2019, 09:52 AM
  3. calc_pids problem
    By h41ry in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: May 30th, 2017, 07:54 PM
  4. modified calc_pids to use W02Ben only
    By Jetmech442 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 13th, 2015, 12:58 PM
  5. calc_pids.txt?????
    By the4wheeler in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2008, 03:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •