Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Reasonable size Cam causing P0106 code.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default Reasonable size Cam causing P0106 code.

    Hello Everyone ,I`m a long time lurker (like 9 years ) I have learnt so much from you ppl on here and I`d like to thank you all. I`m having quite a bit of trouble with P0106 code , I have a Gen 4 E38 . I have tried several changes to no success. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction. Cheers
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Is this an engine swap application?

    Define Reasonable size cam?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1FastBrick View Post
    Is this an engine swap application?

    Define Reasonable size cam?
    Hi yes it is a engine swap.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cam specs.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	32.6 KB 
ID:	23203

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hi everyone is this site dying a slow death ? I`m surprised by the little response I have received.

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,836

    Default

    Can you post a log file showing MAP, MAF, RPM, and other pids.

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,836

    Default

    I'm switching jobs, so the interviewing has slowed me down.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default

    A quick gander at your file. Is this an E38? I am not familiar with that Vehicle/OS. Are you not using the MAF sensor? Is it plugged in? Your file shows you have MAF diagnostics turned off? I thought that you have to fail the MAF to throw it into speed density mode and usually set the fail high to 0 hz. If I am wrong, please someone mention.

    That is a pretty healthy cam and is causing the p0106. Big cam and big TB fight each other too. p0101, p0106, and p0121 usually work together. Easiest thing to do is just set p0106 to no error reporting. If you want that active, keep playing in your C0806 maximum map change table. You can also raise the C0407 MAP/MAF Performance Min RPM to a higher RPM above the cam lope once you get your MAF active again once your finished tuning the VVE side.
    -Carl

    Just looked, same OS as a 2011 Camaro Auto I have here, the rest of the cals are different but my Camaro file is an Auto instead of a stick like the one in this thread.
    Last edited by In-Tech; 4 Weeks Ago at 03:49 PM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thanks Joe ,
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    I'm switching jobs, so the interviewing has slowed me down.
    Thanks Joe much appreciated the time you have given me , good luck with your Job hunting.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by In-Tech View Post
    A quick gander at your file. Is this an E38? I am not familiar with that Vehicle/OS. Are you not using the MAF sensor? Is it plugged in? Your file shows you have MAF diagnostics turned off? I thought that you have to fail the MAF to throw it into speed density mode and usually set the fail high to 0 hz. If I am wrong, please someone mention.

    That is a pretty healthy cam and is causing the p0106. Big cam and big TB fight each other too. p0101, p0106, and p0121 usually work together. Easiest thing to do is just set p0106 to no error reporting. If you want that active, keep playing in your C0806 maximum map change table. You can also raise the C0407 MAP/MAF Performance Min RPM to a higher RPM above the cam lope once you get your MAF active again once your finished tuning the VVE side.
    -Carl

    Just looked, same OS as a 2011 Camaro Auto I have here, the rest of the cals are different but my Camaro file is an Auto instead of a stick like the one in this thread.
    Hi thank you for the reply , I`m hoping the Maff is failed ,I`m wanting to run SD .

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. P0106 Code and surge.
    By Orange Stroker in forum Cummins 6.7L
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 24th, 2016, 04:29 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 25th, 2013, 01:54 AM
  3. Idle MAP vs CAM size
    By samh_08 in forum Petrol / Gas
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: September 20th, 2012, 01:48 PM
  4. TB Hole size - MS4 Cam, IAC maxxed out
    By Kevin Doe in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 11th, 2007, 06:13 PM
  5. Big Cam guys, what size hole drilled in TB Blade...
    By Loudmouth LS1 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 13th, 2007, 11:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •