Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: I can't tune a cammed C5 with an EFI Live OS anymore?? WTH? Idle problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default I can't tune a cammed C5 with an EFI Live OS anymore?? WTH? Idle problems

    Let me start by saying I'm not the best tuner the planet has ever seen, but I have tuned well over 1,000 cammed C5's in the last 20+ years. In the last 6 months to a year I can no longer tune a 411 PCM, or any C5 for that matter with an EFI OS. None of the cars will idle, terribly inconsistent, basically undriveable. No issues anywhere else in the tune. I am talking 20 or so cars now that I have fought with for days.

    The only fix is to wipe out the EFI OS and tune it with HP, then the car runs perfect. (and I hate using HP)

    Am I the only one having this issue? I have such a huge library of C5 tune files and now I have to tune each car by hand, writting files in HP. Besides the cost, did I mention that I hate using HP?

    Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,879

    Default

    That is strange... post some tune files and the log files from them.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default

    So I was using old tunes files from comparable builds. I started from scratch with a new written OS and so far no problems. Only one car so far though.

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 9secVette View Post
    The only fix is to wipe out the EFI OS and tune it with HP, then the car runs perfect. (and I hate using HP)
    Really? Interesting. Share the same sentiment about HPT's pricing and GUI cal setups. Have to use it for T87A stuff no choice. Would be curious to know more about your experiences.

    2000 Silverado Full Size 4x4: Forged 6.2, H/C F1R Procharger
    98A4 Z28: 02 PCM H/C Forged 347, 9" Moser 3.73
    V1 V2 99+up RR COS #5 OLSD Dual Stg N20
    www.eifalchemy.com
    www.greatamericancarwar.com

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,879

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 9secVette View Post
    So I was using old tunes files from comparable builds. I started from scratch with a new written OS and so far no problems. Only one car so far though.
    Using EFIlive...?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 7th, 2013, 08:33 PM
  2. Lost my cold start Fast idle after installing EFI Live.
    By Dragbear in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 11th, 2013, 02:06 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 15th, 2011, 08:17 PM
  4. Efi live and factory fast idle
    By maxxflip in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 17th, 2009, 02:50 PM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 17th, 2008, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •