Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4l80e to six speed (cda009)

Default 4l80e to six speed (cda009)

Ok here we go again as my original post didnt load or so it seems. I am a complete newb who bought the v2 to be able to do donor motor swaps. My first task is helping with a motor swap. A standard cab shortbed that has a 4.3 and will be getting a completely stock lq4. My buddy has already put the pedal and master cylinder in the truck and has the bellhousing conversion and clutch to run this 350z trans. strange I know but we are more fab guys entering ls world. So my question is how do I shut off the trans control completely so nothing is reported>? I pulled the 6.0 tune and deleted vats and want adress the TC side of things. So again i realize this is a strange build but It would be the same question if I wanted to run a powerglide or th350. Once I can get clarity on trans I can full flash the gen 3 pcm that is already in truck controlling the factory 4.3.

Im ready to get destroyed on this topic which I am down for but as long as it comes with an answer!

Lifetime Member

I think the easiest thing to do here would be to switch over to a 2001-2002 Camaro tune with a full flash, but with the LQ4 engine stuff segment swapped in. Then just change the ratios for the transmission in the Corvette's transmission segment, update the rear gearing, and I would think you'd be good to go. Just remember, you can only swap segments from PCMs with the same OS, which OS do you currently have? With the GenIII, 12212156 is the best in the sense that you can get COS5 which likely has a bunch of stuff you don't really need, but it does have the semi open loop tables which are pretty sweet. Nothing strange about the Z trans, lots of folks are also using the AR5 I believe it's called from the Colorado. People want stupid money for a 20+ year old T56 that still needs a rebuild.
    1998 GMC Sierra K1500 5.7/4L80E, longtubes, 411 w/COS 5, marine cam/intake, Whipple. 91 octane at 6000'.