Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: L5P ecm flash by EfiLive

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    60

    Default L5P ecm flash by EfiLive

    from this https://forum.efilive.com/showthread...427#post252427 to here as suggested

    EFILive has ZERO mapping on these yet, all you can do is load files and flash them. I know that doesn't bother a lot of users as they have files already done in WinOLS etc, but I thought I have to mention that.
    Yes TIS2WEB files are good but it's not straight forward to get these all merged into one file ready to go. This is why we haven't made much noise about this yet, it's all in the very early stages of being implemented.

    Might be worth starting a new thread on this specific topic, it is going to get lost in here.


    I'm sure it is great news for many, I can live with no mapping for now as our need are not more power and emission delete, I wish Efilive will release more info and capabilities asap. Have received a CDS mod ecm , ready for testing.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,166

    Default

    A quick summary as these are the challenges that still need to be worked out, for some this isn't going to be an issue.


    • If you didn't get your own ECM unlocked you'll need to have the ECM set up like a new ECM would need, eg VATS, Injector Trims etc....I am not sure how this is done on the L5P.
    • You need to get a stock file (probably via TIS) and it will need to be configured to work with EFILive. (currently this requires a lot of manual manipulation of the TIS files).
    • There is some checksums that aren't currently corrected, EFILive needs to have some of these mapped for the V8 editor before that can happen (a no start will result).
    • You need to get an Auth-code for flashing (if you know the ECM Key you can create one), we cannot auto generate Auth-Codes for the E41 at the moment.


    Again this is why we have not announced this as a feature as it isn't really ready to roll out yet, it all got put on hold and hidden in the software late last year to focus on the V3 development (and V8 editor).
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Thanks for the update, if you need field test please ask

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    186

    Default

    One of my customers want's me to swap a L5P into a 79 K2500, I think I will go ahead with the mechanical part and wiring, hoping that i can deal with the ECM on a later date. The swap won't start until late fall. We have a complete 2018 duramax truck as donor.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,166

    Default

    Yes this shouldn't be a problem, VATS disable will be possible like most of the other late model ECM's we do.
    Of course it is an unknown but I can't see why we couldn't make that work.
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    186

    Default

    That's what i was expecting.. thanks. I know i can use HP, pardon my swearing, but i rather not

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,166

    Default

    Why even mention it then?
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    186

    Default

    If you need a L5P ecm to play with, I can ship one out

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,166

    Default

    Thanks for the offer but we already have 5 of the unlocked ECM's from controllerdiagnostics.com
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    186

    Default

    controller diagnostics doesn't offer that service anymore
    Thanks,

    Matt Derks

    www.derkscustomcars.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.........bad news for L5P
    By GMC-2002-Dmax in forum Diesel
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: April 16th, 2018, 08:38 AM
  2. Flash new ECM question
    By rrmccabe in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 4th, 2016, 12:20 AM
  3. ECM flash Questions
    By DODGE74 in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: November 20th, 2011, 03:31 AM
  4. can read but cant flash ecm
    By Aint Skeered in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 25th, 2008, 11:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •