Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Factory Remote start not working after EFI Live tuned

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    5

    Default Factory Remote start not working after EFI Live tuned

    I have a 2017 RAM 2500 that was recently tuned and the factory remote start is not working anymore. Before tuning, in stock form factory remote start was working and no DTCs were found using a snap-on scanner (mechanic verified the truck was trouble free before tuning). After tuning, the truck doesn't show any lights on the dash, no open door indicators, no low fuel level, nothing stating the remote start was canceled at all, and the hood latch doe work because when I open the hood, the hood light comes on and close the hood it goes off. I'm being told the remote start is not controlled by EFI Live and that's on a separate module by the tuner.

    Before posting this post, I tried to search as best I could to find my answer and I am sorry if I missed it but I didn't see another post with my issue or similar. Is EFI Live capable of accessing the remote start system and disabling it somehow or possibly causing it to not work after a flash has occurred with EFI Live? I'm just trying to find a definitive answer on who I can go back to with my issue (tuner vs. mechanic) and get this issue resolved once and for all.

    Any insight on this would be appreciated. Also, if this is the wrong section please move the thread to where it needs to go, I figured this was the place to post it since my truck is a diesel truck.

    Thanks,
    JT21

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,031

    Default

    I'd be suspicious that maybe the correct base file wasn't used if it all happened after it was tuned.
    Now that the original program is gone from the ECM the tuner and yourself will need to check what the ECM was originally shipped with to ensure the correct file is in there.
    This can be cross referenced to the E/C number on the ECM (you will need to look).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CME_EC.png 
Views:	50 
Size:	499.2 KB 
ID:	23464


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I had my mechanic pull up my ECU information and it shows my truck as a 2011... and it's a 2017. So to me this means the wrong base file was used? Obviously I can use this file as the truck starts and drives but... does that mean that the 2011 file he supplied me has the exact same functions and features of the 2017 that I own?

    Here is what mine shows:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0278_20200826_204140.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	558.3 KB 
ID:	23465

    I am hoping that this might be the problem and I can go back the tuner and say, the wrong file was used? Please let me know.

    Thanks,
    JT21

  4. #4
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,031

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JT21 View Post
    Just to clarify EFI Live tunes can cause an issue with factory remote start? Is there some way a tuner can "turn off" the function somehow? I asked my tuner this if it was possible and he said he never had the issue nor knows why it would not work. I guess I'm the lucky one to get this issue right after tuning the truck.
    There is nothing that EFILive does to the remote start function (I'm assuming this would all be controlled by the BCM - Body Control Module).
    I only suggested they used the wrong base file because strange stuff can happen when the wrong one is chosen. that might not be the case but I think it is worth investigating that avenue.

    The ECM is mounted on the side of the motor, not sure how easy it is to see that label though.

    That VIN data is just wrong, it is impossible to put a 2011 program into a 2017 ECM, they are totally different.


  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Not to derail this thread completely but how many posts does it take for me to not have to wait for approval for posting? Just curious because it seems like I have to post a message twice before it gets submitted or I guess "approved"?

    I did some digging around and unless I'm completely wrong (which I'm willing to accept I am wrong because I have no idea really what I'm doing), I believe the wrong base file was used because the label on my ECM from the truck for the "Cummins ECM Code" does not match the one that was provided by the tuner.

    From what I can tell the tuner used a file from a 2014 truck because the 2014 file I obtained from the repository matched the Cummins ECM Code exactly.

  6. #6
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,031

    Default

    Sounds like you are up to speed on this now.
    The Cummins ECM Code printed on the ECM sticker is the important one, for example if your ECM has printed on it for the E/C code something like this:
    DO90001.11
    Then you can actually use any version of that calibration, like this:
    DO90001.12
    DO90001.15
    DO90001.19

    Any of those would do as the '.xx' at the end just indicates what update number it is from the factory, just like a version number with PC software.
    What wouldn't work is
    DO90001.11
    DO90002.11 << The '2' indicates the calibration is for a different vehicle configuration.
    DO90004.11 << The '4' indicates the calibration is for a different vehicle configuration.

    For each of the DO90001.xx updates the OS number, Calibration ID etc does change, those are Dodge part numbers.

    So if you can tell your tuner that your factory file was 'DO90001.11' (again that is just an example) and they need to build your tune from a version of that then I think you'll find everything will start working.

    Cheers,
    Ross


  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Okay that's interesting just so I don't cause more confusion I basically get the gist of what you're saying but what about if my E/C number is DO90051.04 and the tuner file has DO90008.08, to me this is not going to work because the stock file number is higher than the 'tuned' file? I am going to say based on the information you put, the tuned file provided to me should not have been used on my truck since the numbers are pretty far off?

    I've attached screenshots (I hope this works to post it) to show my tuned file vs. my stock file I pulled from the file repo.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Stock File from File Repo.PNG 
Views:	28 
Size:	15.3 KB 
ID:	23485Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tuner File Information.png 
Views:	26 
Size:	12.5 KB 
ID:	23484

    Thanks,
    JT21

  8. #8
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,031

    Default

    Yeah that probably won't work well, you now have a 2014 OS in a 2017 vehicle. Whilst the engine might be happy with that the other modules on the truck may not be.

    Some tuners might say that swapping year model tunes is fine (and it might be in some instances) but in your case if you've lost the remote start function then going back to what should be in the ECM seems like the easiest way to check if the ECM program is the cause.

    If on the ECM label you have an E/C of DO90051.04 then you should be using one of the files below as a base.
    The revision probably isn't critical but using DO90051 as a base is.

    E/C--------OS Number---DodgeCALID-Application
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    DO90051.00 32.17.00.14 32370791AA 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S
    DO90051.01 32.17.00.17 32370791AB 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S
    DO90051.03 32.17.01.01 32370731AD 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S
    DO90051.04 32.17.02.02 32370731AE 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S
    DO90051.05 32.17.03.01 32370731AF 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S
    DO90051.07 32.17.04.03 32370731AH 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S
    DO90051.08 32.17.05.03 32370731AI 2017 DJ D2 6.7L 68RFE 50S




  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Is there any update? JT21, you mentioned "Tuner" used the wrong file, did you purchase an AutoCal. You should be contacting the tuner to rectify your issue.
    2007 Dodge Ram 3500 6.7 CTD DRW 4X4 C&C, EFILive, PLX Modules using Kiwi wifi II, going thru Lockpick displayed on my NAV screen. SB SMF DDS-3250 G56.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    5

    Default

    To answer your questions, yes the "Tuner" used the wrong file. I had an existing AutoCal. I tried multiple times to contact the tuner and was told either it was my truck, some other issue, or the tuner never replied back. This was after what I consider more than enough attempts to contact the guy and I guess for the lack of better terms "prove" to him the wrong file was used. I had to find a new tuner and that is what I did. The new tuner I have now, on the first try, remote start worked and all functions features from the factory worked as expected like it should.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: June 20th, 2016, 03:53 AM
  2. Remote Start time increases - EFI Live open BCM module???
    By Sparx in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 4th, 2015, 01:35 PM
  3. Efi live and factory fast idle
    By maxxflip in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 17th, 2009, 01:50 PM
  4. Pontiac G8 remote start not working
    By KenB in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 11th, 2009, 04:14 AM
  5. Can You Use Efi Live to Program Remote Entry?
    By Mitco39 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 21st, 2009, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •