Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: using EFILive like HPTuners

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    47

    Default

    I do have the IAT sensor in the bottom of the y-pipe 2" from the TB.
    The 2007/2008 info I was referring to is the docs from EFILive tech docs. I have read so many docs I can't remember which ones had descriptions I could not find in 7.5Tune.
    But I will plug along. I know I can make adjustments but I am having trouble understanding when to know know its right. So is it I get it close so it runs decent then put it on a dyno to know its performing correctly.
    I do appreciate your help.

    2010 Camaro SS LS3 in a 55 Chevy
    Manual 6 spd
    Texas Speed 2" headers w/3" exhaust
    Texas Speed cam 229/236 .629/.615 112 LSA
    Hi-Ram intake stock injectors

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    47

    Default

    I'm back...I went for a road test, went to accelerate quicker than normal, the engine popped went into limp mode only 1/4mi form the shop. Thought I could limp back, but Nooooooo, it died. Friend happen by n pulled me to the shop. Found 3 fuses blown. Main relay, fan relay #2, and fuse block 12v feed, battery voltage was fine. Pulled plugs cause it was running like there were 3 dead cylinders. The plugs were black so I replaced them but no change. Hooked up the V2 and no codes. Now won't connect to the ecm. Beginning to wonder if this EFI tuning is for me!

    2010 Camaro SS LS3 in a 55 Chevy
    Manual 6 spd
    Texas Speed 2" headers w/3" exhaust
    Texas Speed cam 229/236 .629/.615 112 LSA
    Hi-Ram intake stock injectors

  3. #23
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,984

    Default

    Did you find out why the fuses blew...?

    Are you saying the spark plugs in the 3 dead cylinders were black...? This means the burn is way too rich. Were the plugs wet or just black with carbon or black with oily black goo...?

    With engine running check for spark at each cylinder (initially, I use an inductive pencil spark tester, see pic).

    Check fuses and grounds.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	inductive capactive spark pencil.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	80.5 KB 
ID:	23534

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Nope...all plugs were black. Yes its running rich. The is running in limp mode and very rough.

    2010 Camaro SS LS3 in a 55 Chevy
    Manual 6 spd
    Texas Speed 2" headers w/3" exhaust
    Texas Speed cam 229/236 .629/.615 112 LSA
    Hi-Ram intake stock injectors

  5. #25
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 5557nut View Post
    OK, Here are some screen shots.
    Attachment 23507Attachment 23508

    For E38, use GM.INJPWB1 and GM.INJPWB2 (noting that GM.IBPW1 and GM.IBPW2 are for LS1A and LS1B)...

    you will then need to modify your calc_pids.txt by inserting the following (at the right places):

    Code:
    *CLC-00-011
    %                  0.0         100.0       .1  "{GM.INJPWB1}*{SAE.RPM}/1200"
    
    *CLC-00-012
    %                  0.0         100.0       .1  "{GM.INJPWB2}*{SAE.RPM}/1200"
    and
    Code:
    CALC.INJDCB1               F011 CLC-00-011   %                Tuning           "Injector Duty Cycle Bank 1"
    CALC.INJDCB2               F012 CLC-00-012   %                Tuning           "Injector Duty Cycle Bank 2"

  6. #26
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,984

    Default

    Also, instead of GM.AFR use SAE.LAMBDA... this means your BEN calc pid will now be like this (if you're using serial comm from wideband):


    Code:
    *CLC-00-110
    factor             0.5           1.5       .4  "{EXT.WO2LAM1}/{SAE.LAMBDA}"
    Code:
    CALC.WO2BEN                F110 CLC-00-110   factor           Tuning           "BEN from WB"

  7. #27
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,984

    Default

    But first, let's make sure you can connect your FSV2 to your E38 and properly log.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Sorry, working in the shop. I did not figure out why the fuses blew, still a mystery...new build n just put body harness but not finding in hanging wires.
    I did get the V2 to connect. Seems like theres a trick to connecting...turn all off...unplug v2 from obd...turn key to run....plug in V2...wow
    The calc_pids.txt file is empty. Ive attached it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

    2010 Camaro SS LS3 in a 55 Chevy
    Manual 6 spd
    Texas Speed 2" headers w/3" exhaust
    Texas Speed cam 229/236 .629/.615 112 LSA
    Hi-Ram intake stock injectors

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Should I start a new thread?
    I've got issues since my LS3 e38 went into limp mode and looking at the log002 file the readings are all over the place.

    joecar...the configurations you gave is over my head...I am a newbie and trying to get comfortable with the scan/tune software.

    2010 Camaro SS LS3 in a 55 Chevy
    Manual 6 spd
    Texas Speed 2" headers w/3" exhaust
    Texas Speed cam 229/236 .629/.615 112 LSA
    Hi-Ram intake stock injectors

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Thanks for your help...I found the connector came off the TB...connected it and engine fired.
    Still pretty rich. I logged another file with engine around 2000rpm. If you can still help?
    I'm a little concerned updating the config. The sections are not clear.
    Could you tell me what comments a line and what the * % mean in the file.
    I've attached the log file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

    2010 Camaro SS LS3 in a 55 Chevy
    Manual 6 spd
    Texas Speed 2" headers w/3" exhaust
    Texas Speed cam 229/236 .629/.615 112 LSA
    Hi-Ram intake stock injectors

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. using EFILive like HPTuners
    By 5557nut in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2020, 04:01 AM
  2. efilive or hptuners?
    By dian in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: December 10th, 2014, 01:25 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 10th, 2013, 06:57 PM
  4. efilive v2 vs hptuners
    By mellor in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: November 8th, 2010, 08:46 AM
  5. Flashscan vs HPTuners? Upgrade from EFILive
    By Iv_z28 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 12th, 2004, 10:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •