Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VE table units

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    115

    Default VE table units

    LS1B - 12587603 here

    B0101 is stuck in g*K/kPa units
    B0102 is stuck in VE % units

    Seems like a small bug that I can't cycle thru the display units for the VE tables. Any ideas or fixes?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.PNG 
Views:	38 
Size:	328.4 KB 
ID:	23548   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.PNG 
Views:	32 
Size:	180.1 KB 
ID:	23549  

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,991

    Default

    I'm finding out.

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,221

    Default

    The units conversion from g*K/kPa to %, g/cyl or g/s is not a trivial conversion. The conversion requires additional information: such as cylinder volume, MAP, charge temperature, RPM etc.
    The V7 software is set up to manage those specific unit conversions, the V8 software is not yet set up to do that. It is possibly something that will be added in a later update.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    115

    Default

    OK, thank you for the follow up. I guess I just found it odd that the main VE table was in one set of units and the cranking table in another set of units. I'll standby for the V8 updates.

  5. #5
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,221

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaronc7 View Post
    OK, thank you for the follow up. I guess I just found it odd that the main VE table was in one set of units and the cranking table in another set of units. I'll standby for the V8 updates.
    Agreed, when I went to investigate that I was also surprised - I am still looking into that, just in case I've labeled the % one incorrectly. I will let you know in this thread when I figure it out.
    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  6. #6
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,221

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaronc7 View Post
    OK, thank you for the follow up. I guess I just found it odd that the main VE table was in one set of units and the cranking table in another set of units. I'll standby for the V8 updates.
    B0101 is defined in the LS1 PCM as g*K/kPa
    B0102 is defined in the LS1 PCM as %
    Those same units are used in the V8 software.

    The V7 software has a specific routine that converts B0102 back to g*K/kPa so that both tables appear with the same units. And so that the unit change from g*K/kPa to g/cyl, g/s or % can be made more easily across both tables.
    I will re-implement a similar thing in the V8 software - it should have been done like that right from the start. That was an oversight in the V8 development. Hopefully it won't take long to implement a solution.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Sounds good, thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. B0101 VE table display units
    By Illegal Vette in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 7th, 2016, 10:57 PM
  2. Changing units with 7.5?
    By PRAY in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2008, 01:15 AM
  3. How to change units?
    By Lextech in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 17th, 2008, 10:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •