Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: CMF 2450 VIN Change

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default CMF 2450 VIN Change

    Is there any way to program the VIN on one of these. Have a customer that was flashing a tune with a different software and the VIN got corrupted. If I retrieve the VIN with V8 it shows up as all zeroes. I can input the VIN, and I get the prompt asking if I want to change it, I click yes, and it goes through with no errors. When I reconnect and retrieve the VIN, its all zeroes again. Also tried with 7.5 bi directional but that gives an error when I try to change it. I am running the latest V8 RC5

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,031

    Default

    Are you sure the ECM is fully operational? (well, does the truck run). They normally wouldn't return all 0's for a VIN unless it was stuck in bootmode after a failed flash.
    The VIN change on these must be done with V8, it will not work with V7 because the messages to change the VIN are different (V8 does it correctly).


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    Are you sure the ECM is fully operational? (well, does the truck run). They normally wouldn't return all 0's for a VIN unless it was stuck in bootmode after a failed flash.
    The VIN change on these must be done with V8, it will not work with V7 because the messages to change the VIN are different (V8 does it correctly).
    Yes, truck starts and runs 3 seconds. ECM was operational, got the VIN programmed with another software, but apparently the other modules on the truck didnt like the 00000000000 VIN.
    Still stuck in antitheft mode, I suppose I have to register the module with Dodge software. I assume it would have worked if he wouldnt have keyed on after the flash. As far as doing the VIN with V8, it didnt work, returned no errors and I got all the dialogs for key off and everything, but all zeroes every time I reconnected

  4. #4
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,031

    Default

    Well not sure what the 'other software' has done but I can assure you the VIN change on these works perfectly on our test ECM here.


Similar Threads

  1. 2350 and 2450 content
    By RD TRCTR in forum Cummins 6.7L
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 18th, 2020, 12:35 AM
  2. VIN change
    By zittman in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 16th, 2019, 02:06 AM
  3. just change the vin
    By reece11 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 28th, 2014, 02:59 PM
  4. VIN Change
    By chrleb2 in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 16th, 2011, 10:38 PM
  5. vin change
    By 69camaro5speed in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 24th, 2007, 12:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •