Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Segment Swap in V8 Editor

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member blindawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    212

    Default Segment Swap in V8 Editor

    Am I missing this in the tutorial? I'm enjoying the rest so far! Everything is much less "Clunky" when opening new files.

  2. #2
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blindawg View Post
    Am I missing this in the tutorial? I'm enjoying the rest so far! Everything is much less "Clunky" when opening new files.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	seg_imex.png 
Views:	126 
Size:	40.2 KB 
ID:	23598

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member wesam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    630

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	seg_imex.png 
Views:	126 
Size:	40.2 KB 
ID:	23598

    Regards
    Paul
    What Disable checksum used for ?
    EFILive Tuner

  4. #4
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wesam View Post
    What Disable checksum used for ?
    Disabling the checksum is not recommended. That will cause the controller to not validate the data in the ECM. If any data gets corrupted, the ECM will continue to operate without knowing/detecting that the data is faulty. That can cause serious problems.

    That option was added to the software to support real-time tuning - which is where a specially constructed ECM (like the LS1 RoadRunner) allows the calibration data to be modified on-the-fly while the ECM is running the vehicle's engine. By disabling the checksum the calibration data is changed in the ECM can be changed without triggering the ECM's data corruption detection and going into limp mode.

    Disabling the checksum is not a useful or prudent thing to do in any other scenario. The fact that we don't support the RoadRunner ECM in the V8 software means that disable checksum should not really be active in the V8 software.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  5. #5
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blindawg View Post
    Am I missing this in the tutorial? I'm enjoying the rest so far! Everything is much less "Clunky" when opening new files.
    There are some updates to the segment import/export.
    Currently in V8.3.1 you can only import an identical segment part numbers. It has been updated in V8.3.2 to:
    • Allow importing of different segment part numbers - so long as the OS number matches.
    • Export multiple segments simultaneously.
    • Use a more logical directory hierarchy.


    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member wesam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    630

    Default

    Thanks Paul
    What about make all checksum zero
    Does it mean to copy all segments ?
    EFILive Tuner

  7. #7
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wesam View Post
    Thanks Paul
    What about make all checksum zero
    Does it mean to copy all segments ?
    No, that just sets the checksums for each segment to zero. Again that is not a useful thing to do - some tuners have requested that feature for their own purposes. I think it has to do with third party hand-held tuners and the way some of them modify the ECM to deal with checksums.

    With the next update V8.3.2 you can select all segments (except the boot block /OS segments) and export them all in one go.
    Then you can import all or just selected segments into a different tune file (with the same OS number).

    That update should be available in the next day or two.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with segment swap
    By 12sec.5.3 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: March 17th, 2018, 07:39 AM
  2. 4l80 swap with frost harness without segment swap
    By james workman in forum Conversions / Aftermarket Parts
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 10th, 2017, 03:12 PM
  3. What does a segment swap do?
    By Mean Green Z28 in forum 4speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T42)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 6th, 2016, 06:52 AM
  4. How do you do a segment swap?
    By Redline Motorsports in forum 4speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T42)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: July 8th, 2012, 07:18 AM
  5. Segment swap...Q's???
    By WHYTRYZ06 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 6th, 2007, 06:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •