Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: Linking Scan Tool To Editor

  1. #11
    Lifetime Member Ninety8C5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    450

    Default

    I agree with your second image it should be captioned with SAE.MAP or MAP:BARO Ratio with units in kPA not ECM.AFRATIO_M.

    Thanks.

  2. #12
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ninety8C5 View Post
    I agree with your second image it should be captioned with SAE.MAP or MAP:BARO Ratio with units in kPA not ECM.AFRATIO_M.

    Thanks.
    AFRATIO is automatically shown as the linked PID because that was the only PID in the log file with units that matched the axis units.
    I.e. the axis has units of :1 and the AFRATIO PID has units of :1 so V8 tried to be "clever" and assumed that since both values are using units of ":1" then they can be linked - that's not accurate. However there is no trivial way for the V8 software to know that, since it is only using the units to make that decision.

    If you didn't have AFRATIO as a selected PID then it would not automatically show up as the linked PID.
    If you had another PID with units of :1 (i.e. a calculated PID that computed BARO/MAP) then neither PID would be auto-selected and you would have to select one of AFRATIO or that calculated PID from the drop down list.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  3. #13
    Lifetime Member Ninety8C5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    450

    Default

    Okay, I think I got it ! I changed my Calculated PID from 'factor' to ':1'. Now it is an option in the drop down box in V8 Editor for that Table and it seems to track with the Scan Tool file.

    [VVE]
    MAP_BARO="Calculated MAP-BAROMETER RATIO",:1,3

    Thank you for explaining how V8 Editor works, it might come in handy for another Table.

    Sorry I took so much of your time,
    Walter

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Scan and tune linking (HELP!)
    By amishmafia00 in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 18th, 2016, 09:12 AM
  2. Linking Scan Log To Tune File Maps
    By The Alchemist in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 30th, 2007, 05:33 PM
  3. linking scan data to tune file
    By a78turbo in forum Duramax LLY
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 14th, 2006, 03:53 PM
  4. Problems linking the scanner and the editor
    By Dirk Diggler in forum General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: May 26th, 2005, 03:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •