Thread: Duramax tuning with V3

Default Duramax tuning with V3

I just got a 2006 Duramax truck that was totalled so that I can install the engine etc into my 2003 Suburban. I have no experience with EFILive, but have worked with HPTuners for a couple years, so I was not expecting any issues.

Now I am a little confused because I have seen posts asking about GM support on the V3 interface. Unfortunately I didn't see those posts before I purchased a V3 with the GM tuning package. Am I going to have issues being able to tune this new engine?

Well, my tuner showed up in the mail, so I figured I would share if anyone reads this later. I hate searching old posts and seeing my question followed up with "Nevermind, figured it out" and no explanation....

It appears the V3 device will work just fine tuning the LBZ, with one downside. Because it has a DSP5 tune it is not capable of reading the existing tune. Since I bought the truck at an insurance auction there would be very little chance of being able to track down whoever installed the current tune. My only option appears that I have to start with a fresh stock tune and go from there.

It is kind of a bummer because I was hoping to get an idea of what has been done to the vehicle based on how the tune was built, or at least a starting platform to work from.
    2003 Suburban 2500 LBZ powered DSP5 100+

Lifetime Member

FlashScan V3 with the GM Tuning Option was released about 6 months ago and is available for purchase on our website.

DSP is a custom operating system written by EFILive to perform non-factory functions (ie add switchable tuning). Unfortunately their isn't enough readable memory space in the ECM to take our custom operating system, but to make it work we found some non-readable space. A result of that is DSP tune files cannot be read, regardless of the hardware used (ie, this is not a restriction of V3).