Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: connecting to vehicle

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    134

    Default connecting to vehicle

    i havent use efilive for over 2 years, so im a bit out of touch.

    trying to read dtc codes on a vehicle i never used efilive on (08 c6zo6). there is still an unused license left. i cant connect to vehicle, it sais "no interface cable found". some stupid mistake probably im making?

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,908

    Default

    Ensure your V2 appears in the Windows Device Manager, if not try a new USB cable or a different PC. Does it properly boot up when connected to just your PC? Check for power on your vehicle's DTC port, GM usually uses the cigarette lighter circuit so look for that fuse and ensure it's not blown.

    You do not need a license to read DTCs/controllers or log, just when you flash a controller for the first time.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    134

    Default

    thanks. i tried again last weekend and it worked. same car, same hardware, same setup, same procedure. no idea what the problem was.

    question: the v2-box would not display any codes. the notebook found several codes. i deleted them and then it displayed none. does that mean the v2-box somehow shows the current codes only?

  4. #4
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,338

    Default

    You need to install the DTC description files (*.dtx files) on your V2 device. You can do that using the V8 software [F5: BBX]
    Click [Read] to read the current black box setup on your V2 - there may be nothing setup yet, that's OK.
    Select [F5: DTCs], then tick all the boxes that you want to include descriptions for.
    Then click [Program] to program the selected DTC description files to your V2.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  5. #5
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky View Post
    You need to install the DTC description files (*.dtx files) on your V2 device. You can do that using the V8 software [F5: BBX]
    Click [Read] to read the current black box setup on your V2 - there may be nothing setup yet, that's OK.
    Select [F5: DTCs], then tick all the boxes that you want to include descriptions for.
    Then click [Program] to program the selected DTC description files to your V2.

    Regards
    Paul
    Sorry, I miss-read your post, I thought you were saying the V2 device wasn't showing the DTC descriptions. This reply only addresses the DTC descriptions not showing up.

    Your V2 device has 4 different options for showing DTCs:
    - Current emissions code
    - Pending emissions codes
    - Current enhanced codes
    - All enhanced codes (includes codes that are pending)

    Each option may show a different set (or no) codes.

    Permanent DTC codes were introduced by CARB/EPA after V2 was designed and V2 does not recognize/display them.
    The V8 software has an additional option that shows permanent codes, maybe those were the codes that you saw in the V8 software but not on the V2 device.
    V3 devices will show permanent codes.

    However, you can't clear permanent codes, they will only be cleared if the ECM runs the test for that code and the test passes.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,189

    Default

    And only select/program the GM or Chrysler DTC's (whichever matches your vehicles).

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    134

    Default

    got it, thanks.

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,189

    Default

    Note that FS can read DTC's from all the modules connected to the CAN bus.

Similar Threads

  1. Efi live not connecting to vehicle
    By 7d9_z28 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: April 13th, 2013, 11:30 AM
  2. Connecting V2 / Laptop to vehicle power
    By Sixes350 in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 10th, 2011, 11:05 PM
  3. Having trouble connecting V4 to vehicle
    By jfclubby in forum EFILive V4
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 18th, 2011, 10:15 AM
  4. RR not connecting..need help
    By superspeed in forum RoadRunner Real-Time PCM Emulator
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: January 29th, 2009, 11:50 AM
  5. Scan tool not connecting to vehicle?
    By kbracing96 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 25th, 2006, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •