Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2016+ LML Factory Programming on a bench harness

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,063

    Default 2016+ LML Factory Programming on a bench harness

    12662677 SN.

    For 2016, SPS appears to prevent ECM-only programming. When I tried, SPS tried to locate the TCM, apparently they have to be programmed in the same operation. Has anyone run into this dead end? What was your work-around?

    Some ding dong told me also, that a used 2016 ecm could not be programmed to another trucks VIN. I am guessing this was just another dealer tech 2 limitation?

    Hopefully there are some folks here who have overcome the new protocol. ACDelco has turned into fort knox. A password change every 2 months is pretty ridiculous.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    You could try a EFI Connection Bench Harness with a PIGTAIL and then connect a TCM onto the ECM and see if that makes TIS Happy

    I do not use TIS2WEB anymore, its such a PITA
    www.mscservices.net


    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  3. #3
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,063

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMC-2002-Dmax View Post
    You could try a EFI Connection Bench Harness with a PIGTAIL and then connect a TCM onto the ECM and see if that makes TIS Happy

    I do not use TIS2WEB anymore, its such a PITA
    You are probably right Tony, just wanted to see if anyone had done it off-board yet. I agree with you, I don't understand how GM thinks this process deserves all this security. Even their system requirements are now something from another universe.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Its been a long while. But IIRC theres some comms spoofing that needs to be done. Had an arduino setup a few years ago that did it. I think it was TCM and BCM comms? Id honestly have to dig in the archives to remember.
    Josh

    '04 GMC LLY
    - L5P, Motech, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans.
    '05 GMC LLY - 250%, 12mm, 67mm Custom Turbo, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans
    '19 3500 RAM - Tuned Aisin 0_o

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Check out customecm.com, James has build a nice utility to change VIN in almost any GM ECU with a decent quality ELM327 device, i have personally not tried it on E86B
    Thanks,

    Matt Derks

    www.derkscustomcars.com

  6. #6
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,160

    Default

    EFILive can change the VIN on any GM ECM, that isn't the issue. The issue discussed above is GM's SPS wants to make contact with other vehicle modules before it will program the ECM.


  7. #7
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,063

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    EFILive can change the VIN on any GM ECM, that isn't the issue. The issue discussed above is GM's SPS wants to make contact with other vehicle modules before it will program the ECM.
    Correct Ross. And this was true beginning in 2011 LML E86, where the BCM needed to be detected. It got worse for 2016 ECM's. So far, have been unable to factory program any USED 2016 ecm using GM. Have had reports from mechanics running into the same problem. And tragically there is presently no supply chain for NEW ...677 ECMs. It must be NEW, and it must be on-board, or on a harness with a TCM and BCM, as best I have concluded so far. A big curve ball and wondering if anyone has found a workaround to be able to use salvage 2016 ECM's.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

  8. #8
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,160

    Default

    Seems like they are going out of their way to force people into a dealership?


Similar Threads

  1. T-87 Bench Harness
    By Chavez91 in forum Allison 5 & 6 Speed
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 17th, 2016, 07:03 PM
  2. bench harness
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 15th, 2006, 04:09 AM
  3. Bench Harness
    By Biodiesel66 in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2006, 08:34 PM
  4. bench harness
    By madprof01 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 21st, 2005, 02:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •