Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Change VIN in E67 Controller

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    192

    Default Change VIN in E67 Controller

    Hi Guys,

    I'm scratching my head with the VIN change process for a 2007 E67 Trailblazer SS ECM.

    I'm unable to choose the VIN change option in V7 software.

    In the V8 software, I'm able to read the controller and then get to the VIN change screen. I can change the VIN shown in the text box, but then I see no option to program the VIN into the controller. I've tried saving the file, and performing an update and full flash. Nothing changes the VIN.

    What am I overlooking? Same issue with the T42 TCM.
    24x LS1 PCM on Early Small-Block Chevy and LT1/LT4
    http://www.eficonnection.com

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,166

    Default

    The VIN change is there for E67 in V7.5 still (I just checked).
    You could actually just choose E38 even as the commands are the same.

    In the V7.5 Tune Tool go to PCM Security, select E67 from the drop down list and then press 'check status'. From there go to the VIN/BCC tab and change it to what you need.
    Given the year of that ECM you 'might' need to also select the 'Clear DTC' box as well.
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,467

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S10Wildside View Post
    In the V8 software, I'm able to read the controller and then get to the VIN change screen. I can change the VIN shown in the text box, but then I see no option to program the VIN into the controller. I've tried saving the file, and performing an update and full flash. Nothing changes the VIN.
    What am I overlooking? Same issue with the T42 TCM.
    It appears that you may be only changing the VIN that is stored in the tune file. This option only changes the VIN that is stored in the tune file, not in the ECM.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vinchange_file_v8.png 
Views:	43 
Size:	84.3 KB 
ID:	24015
    The VIN stored in the tune file is for display/information purposes only, it is not programmed/updated back into the ECM when the tune file is flashed into the ECM.


    While using V7 should work with V2 devices, it won't work with V3 devices. So using the V8 software to update the VIN is recommended.
    To change the VIN in the ECM/TCM using either V2 or V3 devices, use the "VIN Change" option in the V8 software:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vinchange_v8.png 
Views:	61 
Size:	150.4 KB 
ID:	24012

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Thanks guys. I now understand I cannot use V8 to change the VIN. I was able to change the VIN with V7, but the PCM Security option was greyed out at the time I posted the question. After messing around with it a bit (I think I did an ECM read), the option was available.
    24x LS1 PCM on Early Small-Block Chevy and LT1/LT4
    http://www.eficonnection.com

  5. #5
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,467

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S10Wildside View Post
    Thanks guys. I now understand I cannot use V8 to change the VIN.
    You can use V8 to change the VIN.
    You can also use V7.

    With V7 you can only use FlashScan/AutoCal V2 devices to change the VIN.
    With V8 you can use FlashScan/AutoCal V2 and V3 devices to change the VIN.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky View Post
    You can use V8 to change the VIN.

    With V8 you can use FlashScan/AutoCal V2 and V3 devices to change the VIN.
    How do you change the VIN in V8? I'm using FlashScan V2.
    24x LS1 PCM on Early Small-Block Chevy and LT1/LT4
    http://www.eficonnection.com

  7. #7
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,467

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S10Wildside View Post
    How do you change the VIN in V8? I'm using FlashScan V2.
    See post #3, the second image.
    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Thanks!
    24x LS1 PCM on Early Small-Block Chevy and LT1/LT4
    http://www.eficonnection.com

Similar Threads

  1. Retrofit and TUTD with LSA, 6L90E and E67 controller
    By Hocky in forum 6 speed/8 speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T43, T76, T87)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 11th, 2020, 12:17 PM
  2. just change the vin
    By reece11 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 28th, 2014, 02:59 PM
  3. GMPP LS3/7 Controller (E67) No Communication
    By Thornader in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 5th, 2013, 11:07 AM
  4. Problem with E67 GMPP Controller
    By tirefryin_s10 in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 6th, 2013, 01:42 AM
  5. E67 GMPP controller checksum error
    By xtreme in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 10th, 2009, 02:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •