Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Newbie...dashboard-B not updating

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default Newbie...dashboard-B not updating

    Hello all.

    EFILIVE newbie here. I'm using the default PID's and dashboards and my dashboard-B decides to not work (stream/display data) from time to time. Been playing with it for a while and I can't figure out why its being finicky. My laptop is a 2GHz Dothan with 2Gb of RAM with a great graphics card so I don't think its the laptop. Anyone have any idea as to why this would be happening?

    TIA,
    Last edited by PewterC5; July 29th, 2006 at 10:48 AM.
    Richard
    Austin, TX
    2008 C6 Z51, NPP, 3LT, 6-speed

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    OK, so I'm a real newbie. It displays the data on dashboard-B only when recording data, i.e. not while just streaming to the laptop. Is this the intended functionality? Seems kind of odd if it is.
    Richard
    Austin, TX
    2008 C6 Z51, NPP, 3LT, 6-speed

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,356

    Default

    There are two modes of scanning data from the vehicle:

    1. Monitoring which is started by clicking on the Yellow start button.
    2. Recording which is started by clicking on the Red start button.

    During monitoring or recording, you can toggle between each mode using the pause button (hotkey: Ctrl+spacebar)

    One common use for this mode, is when you stop at the traffic lights and you know you'll be there for a few minutes. You can pause the log and restart it when you start moving again.

    The option to start in "monitoring" mode (yellow button) was added so that you can monitor the engine parameters until they reach the deisred condition(s) at which time you can start recording data by clicking the (un)pause button or pressing the Ctrl+spacebar hotkey.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Blacky,

    Thanks for the quick response. Sorry for the newbie questions but as you know I'm on a steep learning curve having just started using it today.

    Should the dashboard-B (default supplied with the software) graphed data show up in monitoring mode? For me they only show up during recording mode.

    Thanks again,
    Richard
    Austin, TX
    2008 C6 Z51, NPP, 3LT, 6-speed

  5. #5
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,356

    Default

    No, in monitor mode no data is captured, which means no historical data (i.e. charted data) will be displayed.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Thanks
    Richard
    Austin, TX
    2008 C6 Z51, NPP, 3LT, 6-speed

Similar Threads

  1. RR not updating.
    By John02SS in forum RoadRunner Real-Time PCM Emulator
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 28th, 2008, 11:47 AM
  2. Updating
    By Eddysel in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 26th, 2008, 10:53 AM
  3. Help with updating os
    By cmitchell17 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 14th, 2007, 09:57 AM
  4. Newbie Question - No Dashboard Response
    By CVs06Tahr in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: February 20th, 2007, 03:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •