Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Filtering out "bad" data in v8

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    118

    Default Filtering out "bad" data in v8

    Am I missing the instructions on how to make filters for v8 scanner like we could with v7.5? TP change less than 5% per 100ms, ECT > 178, etc.?

    I have looked all over I promise

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Ive been trying to do the same.. V8 isnt near as easy to work with yet as V7.5

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    168

    Default

    I’m with you…..can’t figure it out :-(
    2000 LS1 M6, No EGR/Air/PS/CATs. TR230 Cam, COS3, OLSD, LC1 Wideband fitted, Procharger P1SC, 2 Bar MAP, Siemans Dekka 60Lb Injectors.
    All wrapped up in a 2000Lb AC Cobra Replica

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Well, so far it looks like you have to do it with calculated PIDS. at the pid selection screen you can click the little triangle on the config button and click calculated PIDs.

    On the top half of the screen you can add your own "Group". I picked "TUNE" and named it "Filter PIDS for Tuning". Then, click on your new group and in the bottom half of the screen you can add your custom PID filter.

    I called the PID TPDX, with name "Remove Fast TP changing". Make it a boolean value PID

    Then I found this code you have to use (from an old thread):

    -- TUNE.TPDX

    -- divide by 10 to convert from "%/per second" to "%/per 100ms"
    tpdx = dx("TP",frame()-1,frame())/10

    -- filter PIDs must have units of "boolean" which means
    -- it must return true or false.
    if ( tpdx<5 ) then
    return true
    else
    return false
    end



    I've yet to figure out if returning true means the data will be filtered out, or if true means the data can stay.

    But anyway, once you've saved all that, you'll see with your log file open you'll have your newly created Filter PID in the drop down menu at the bottom right.


    I think eventually you'd want to name this filter "standard VE filter", and in the if/else/end statement you'd have more logic

    paraphrasing here, but...

    if ( (tpdx<5) && ("ECT" > 180) && (count(BEN1) > 30) ) then
    return true
    else
    return false
    end
    Last edited by Jim_PA; August 11th, 2022 at 10:36 PM.

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    The filter calc pid returning true means the sample is filtered out from the dataset.

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    BTW: you can replace this:
    Code:
    if X
    then
        return true
    else
        return false
    end
    with simply:
    Code:
    return X

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Good thread. I'm just getting back into tinkering with my C5 and see there's been lots of software changes and V8 has come a long way-- I like it!

    Anyways, I had this same question and popped on the forum, and was happy to see this going already

    I've come up with these 2 functions and they appear to work identically and appear to be what we/I want to do? Filter out data greater than 5% tps per 100ms.

    I think you want the functions to 'return' good data, so in this case, return anything less than 5% tps per 100ms

    Anyways here is what I originally tried, and then a more simplified version which so far appears to be identical result. Still experimenting.

    Code:
    -- USER.TRANSTPS
    tpdx = dx("PCM.TP",frame()-1,frame())/10
    return tpdx < 5
    Code:
    -- USER.TRANSTPS
    return dx("PCM.TP",frame()-1,frame())/10 < 5

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    125

    Default

    I converted over most of the "CALC.VET" type of stuff that I used on v7.5 as well. Will share if I can figure out a better way to save them to a file or something.

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaronc7 View Post
    ...

    Code:
    -- USER.TRANSTPS
    tpdx = dx("PCM.TP",frame()-1,frame())/10
    return tpdx < 5
    Code:
    -- USER.TRANSTPS
    return dx("PCM.TP",frame()-1,frame())/10 < 5
    Yes, those do the same thing.

Similar Threads

  1. "bad file format"
    By GAMEOVER in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 4th, 2011, 04:28 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 6th, 2011, 01:12 PM
  3. EFILive "Classic"/"Legacy"/"Historic"?
    By emarkay in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2008, 01:48 AM
  4. What makes the 98-00 PCM "so bad"?
    By N0DIH in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: February 6th, 2008, 02:47 PM
  5. 97 PCM "Bad bin file format"?
    By caver in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: October 18th, 2005, 11:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •