Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Flashscan Suddenly Disconnected, Won't Reconnect

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    720

    Default Flashscan Suddenly Disconnected, Won't Reconnect

    I decided to try my luck at lean cruise today. I flashed the PCM, fired up the Scan Tool, connected to the vehicle, hit record and all was well for like 3 seconds. Then it disconnected, tried and failed to reconnect. I restarted the software, the computer, disconnected/reconnected cables (tried every, changed out the USB cable, nothing. Now I can't flash or anything which is kind of a big deal as the parameters I used went a bit too far. What next? Is there any way for me to ping the flashscan to narrow this down?
    1998 GMC Sierra K1500 5.7/4L80E, longtubes, 411 w/COS 5, marine cam/intake, Whipple. 91 octane at 6000'.
    1997 GMC Sierra K3500 7.4/4L80E, 411 w/COS 3, Whipple, small cam.
    2004 Corvette Z06 with longtubes.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member ChipsByAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Does the V2 or V3 work without the laptop?
    Al
    "Trash that carb and get Injected!"

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    720

    Default

    It does. Shortly after posting I unplugged my wireless USB mouse and plugged the Flashscan into that port and it seemed to work, so I'm beginning to suspect a USB port issue. I do want to know how to better characterize this so I'm not caught with my pants down in the future. I'm taking this truck on a road trip in a week and a half, luckily I was able to tone the fueling down a bit and get it flashed and it's happy now so no need to panic, but I definitely didn't fix anything just got lucky. When plugged only into the OBDII port it powered up and when plugged only into the USB it lit up the LEDs below the screen (when it was acting up).
    1998 GMC Sierra K1500 5.7/4L80E, longtubes, 411 w/COS 5, marine cam/intake, Whipple. 91 octane at 6000'.
    1997 GMC Sierra K3500 7.4/4L80E, 411 w/COS 3, Whipple, small cam.
    2004 Corvette Z06 with longtubes.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    103

    Default

    I don't know for sure what has happened, but since the day I was forced to move to win7 or higher, I have had connection errors out of no where. So far with reboots and unplug crapola I am able to re-connect. This is on multiple laptops including my win10. I wish the powers that be would let our old xp software work till this is figured out. It is extremely frustrating out in the field when I am not in my desktop environment.

    All of it seems to be serial/usb problems. I am not upset with ANY one particular product, it is widespread and I truly believe it is again Windows BS Fock, if I have a stable environment, why would you stop me from being able to use what is working??????????

    I do understand some of the new things you employ "supposedly" require some bs SHA-1 update but for gods sake, fock that !!!!!!!!!!!!! And all these dll updates to do MAYBE 1 or 2 things. WTF???????? Are we or not friggin programmers? oh yeah, fock the guys that have paid all the money every time you asked. And we did it willingly because we love you guys.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    720

    Default

    After living with this more, it appears to be an intermittent USB issue of some sort with the laptop itself. That first night it was extra stubborn, but since then I've been able to pretty much get what I want. I think the writing's on the wall for this old dinosaur, got it December 2008 I suppose it's had a good run.
    1998 GMC Sierra K1500 5.7/4L80E, longtubes, 411 w/COS 5, marine cam/intake, Whipple. 91 octane at 6000'.
    1997 GMC Sierra K3500 7.4/4L80E, 411 w/COS 3, Whipple, small cam.
    2004 Corvette Z06 with longtubes.

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,330

    Default

    Yeah, too bad we're forced to obsolete OS's.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,874

    Default

    you are probably having issues with the usb connector in the v2. I've had to replace mine 3-4x.... V2 works fine with windows 11. I do use v8 though.

    Thanks
    "All that is needed for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing..."

Similar Threads

  1. Flashscan won't change to US units
    By ls2trailblazer in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 13th, 2018, 10:37 AM
  2. new tune won't load onto my flashscan
    By dodgeram5-92500 in forum Diesel
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2015, 10:40 AM
  3. Suddenly lean???
    By hquick in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: February 18th, 2009, 05:01 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 20th, 2008, 07:47 AM
  5. Anyone disconnected their front O2's after open loop programming?
    By onfire in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 9th, 2007, 02:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •