Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Flashing over hp tuners

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default Flashing over hp tuners

    Hey guys, I’ve just finished tuning a car with the RR and went to flash the original ls1 ecu that had been tuned with hp, it’s saying it’s locked and won’t flash it, I can read the tune with hp but can’t flash with efilive, i had this happen with another one a year or so ago and just got a different ecu, this time I tried putting earth onto the reset pin but it made no difference.
    Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks
    Pete.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    746

    Default

    This has me curious about how the lock function works on both suites of software. It sounds like you can't cheat and use EFILive to unlock a tune locked by HPT? If that's the case, what about PCM Hammer?
    1998 GMC Sierra K1500 5.7/4L80E, longtubes, 411 w/COS 5, marine cam/intake, Whipple. 91 octane at 6000'.
    1997 GMC Sierra K3500 7.4/4L80E, 411 w/COS 3, Whipple, small cam.
    2004 Corvette Z06 with longtubes.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Supercharged111 View Post
    This has me curious about how the lock function works on both suites of software. It sounds like you can't cheat and use EFILive to unlock a tune locked by HPT? If that's the case, what about PCM Hammer?
    i could read the pcm with hp and sse the file but couldn't re flash it with efilive, since then i held earth on the reset pin and it started to full flash with efilive, half way through i took the earth off and it stopped flashing, now its dead and cant read it with hp or anything, wondering if it can be recovered with tech2 or something weather its worth sending away or not im not sure.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happlyline View Post
    Can you send me a sample for reference?
    What would you like a sample of ?

    Update, ive send the pcm away and had it fix so i can now flash to it.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turbo View Post
    What would you like a sample of ?

    Update, ive send the pcm away and had it fix so i can now flash to it.
    Where did you send the PCM?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nonnieselman View Post
    Where did you send the PCM?
    Sent it to justin at ultimate conversion wiring in Sydney

Similar Threads

  1. HP Tuners and Custom OS?
    By mattenderle in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 13th, 2015, 02:13 PM
  2. HP Tuners?
    By mattenderle in forum Diesel
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 13th, 2015, 01:27 PM
  3. 6.0L tuners????
    By treyfox11 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2010, 06:19 AM
  4. any tuners n. va.
    By bbc03 in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 28th, 2008, 01:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •