Thread: Please help a newbie

Default Please help a newbie

I am still new at the tunning thing so please help me if you can, I am tring to tune my car for a bigger cam, I have logged alot in with auto VE and while in SD mode i have the AFR VERY close almost dead on, I copied the VEtables over to the original tune the afr goes very rich with the maf hooked up idles under 12.1 and stays very rich through out the rpm range, Car idles for a sec then dies it will not idle in gear, But in OPSD the car runs great I know i'm missing somthing here but i am lost any help would be greatly appreciated.

When you reconnect the MAF, it needs to be recalibrated just like the VE when using this tuning method. You need to create a table in the scanner that looks like the MAF table in the tuning software. ONE column (vertical) along with 85 rows (horizontal) for each MAF Hz. To set it up, use RPM's for the 1 column with Col labels being ",8000" (yes - type the comma). The rows are MAF Hz starting at 1500 and going to 12000 in steps of 125.

You need two tables like this. One with the data parameter being commanded AFR and the other with the data parameter being WBO2 AFR. Then just like the VE, you use the % error to adjust your MAF. Logged AFR divided by Commaned AFR equals % error. Granted you won't hit all 85 cells...but you can make changes above and beyond the cells you do hit based on their change from the stock table. You can see this change by using the compare feature (current tune vs. stock tune).

Thanks alot I understand i will get on it now

If it were me, I'd run it in closed loop speed density and call it a day. Why struggle with the MAF when you have a good tune in SD?
    DigitalEFI- EFILive US Distributor
    sales@digitalefi.com
    678/344-1590

Quote Originally Posted by dfe1
    If it were me, I'd run it in closed loop speed density and call it a day. Why struggle with the MAF when you have a good tune in SD?