Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: another newbie question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    62

    Default another newbie question

    I have been reading about autove tuning and such. My question is why do you dialin the VE table then put the car back into closed loop??? Are the stock VE tables that far off??

  2. #2
    EFILive Distributor dfe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    837

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turbo lcc
    I have been reading about autove tuning and such. My question is why do you dialin the VE table then put the car back into closed loop??? Are the stock VE tables that far off??
    If the system is in closed loop, it will automatically correct the air/fuel mixture, so any logged data will be skewed. By staying in open loop, the system can't "correct" the results of any changes made to the VE table.
    DigitalEFI- EFILive US Distributor
    sales@digitalefi.com
    678/344-1590

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member eboggs_jkvl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Autotuning allows you to tune to what you have. If you are 100% totally stock and never touched anything, then the stock VE tables are probably just fine. In my case, I have a mixed breed. I have the LS6 internals, reduced CR, and the LS1 Intake so the stock VE table probably has room for improvement. Heads & cam, stock VE has room for improvement. So, by doing the autotune, you get the VE table spot on to "your" mods and then you toss it back to closed loop and let the PCM handle it.

    At least that's how I understand the thought process.


    Elmer
    2014 Corvette Convertible, Torch Red, A6, Z51, 3LT, NPP Exhaust



  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    739

    Default

    Well said.

    2000 Silverado Full Size 4x4: Forged 6.2, H/C F1R Procharger
    98A4 Z28: 02 PCM H/C Forged 347, 9" Moser 3.73
    V1 V2 99+up RR COS #5 OLSD Dual Stg N20
    www.efialchemy.com
    www.greatamericancarwar.com

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    62

    Default

    eboggs jkvl... that helps clear it up.

    I want to tune my 03 6.0 HD for better mileage and it seemed like autove was my first step, but since the truck is completely stock it sounds like it will not do any good.

  6. #6
    Unknown Zone TAQuickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    You can always revert back to your stock tune for side by side comparison later.

Similar Threads

  1. newbie question
    By Baldric in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: May 12th, 2009, 05:43 AM
  2. Newbie with question.
    By WisconsinHick1 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 16th, 2009, 11:49 AM
  3. Newbie question...
    By waterbug1999 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2008, 01:16 PM
  4. Another Newbie Question...
    By boating4five in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 17th, 2008, 08:47 PM
  5. Newbie Question
    By V7TTE in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 28th, 2008, 07:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •