Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Greenhorn

Default Greenhorn

I'm new to EFILIVE and tuning, I am trying to pick up on
    what I need to do to fine tune the tune on my vehicle.

I bought a mail order tune and also EFILIVE commercial.
    but after my first logging trip I see I have 5 - 8 KR I think it can be better.
    and I also want to understand my vehicle better.

Most of what I have read here on this great forum seemed
    geared to v8's and I'm not sure what is applicable to my lil ole' IL6

So guys can you tell me where to start . links to tutorials are always appreciated.
    Last edited by Kdukes; November 20th, 2006 at 09:02 AM.

Welcome to the forum Kdukes!

I'm sure others will chime in soon to help you out.

You must have a wait4me tune. You need to pull timing out of that tune on the high octane spark table... a lot. Put your original tune back on and start from there. You will lose gas mileage and lose even more power with that particular tune.

Start logging your original tune. You may need to make some filters to prevent displaying knock from when you hit the throttle too hard. Tell about your vehicle, someone may be able to send you the tune from their vehicle.

DS

Yes I do have that tune, but I must say that from stock I did actually have gains. I started with about 12mpg city 14.6 hwy and after the tune it went up to 14.1 city 16 - 19 hwy (hwy depends on avg speed of 60 -65 vs 75/80 (leadfoot hysterisis factor).

My wife reports higher mpg's on her 04 EXT also.

I know you say well if its better why mess with it?

1. I bought the software I want to learn how to use it.
    2. there was this funky modulation at low rpms on my truck and the shifts were not as firm as i wanted.