Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 124

Thread: Auto Tune

  1. #21
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SinisterSS
    The IAT sensor is built into my MAF. :evil:

    I do like how well my car runs with the fine tuned VE table in SD mode.
    Nothing a drill, gromet & new IAT sensor can't fix.

    Paul, you have a line on IAT sensors? You can probably sell a few with this upcoming upgrade.

  2. #22
    Lifetime Member Bruce Melton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    674

    Default

    Isn't the IAT temp factored into the MAF output to the PCM?

    2000 C5 Coupe, 6M, Callies/Mahle stroked LS7 (441), Blackwing, Halltech, LS3 intake, 90mm Shaner TB, ported L92 heads, FAST 50# inj, not too much cam, Kooks 1 7/8" headers , 3" catless mid pipes, Z TIs, track suspension, , 3:90 rear, EFI V2, LM-2, etc.
    PowrMax Performance

    100 mm PowrMAF

    LM-2 EFILIve package with TAQ -sLM2 V-2 serial cable> Package deals

  3. #23
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Melton
    Isn't the IAT temp factored into the MAF output to the PCM?
    The IAT sensor is built into the 85mm MAF sensor. If you look inside the sensor you can see a little black "thingy" sticking out. The MAF connector is 5 wire, 2 of which are used for the IAT sensor. When GM went to the 85mm MAF from the 75mm metal MAF, they moved the IAT sensor into the MAF.

  4. #24
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    688

    Default

    Set the fail gm/sec to 0 and you retain the IAT and the maf is still physically there

  5. #25
    Lifetime Member Bruce Melton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    674

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John Skiba
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Melton
    Isn't the IAT temp factored into the MAF output to the PCM?
    The IAT sensor is built into the 85mm MAF sensor. If you look inside the sensor you can see a little black "thingy" sticking out. The MAF connector is 5 wire, 2 of which are used for the IAT sensor. When GM went to the 85mm MAF from the 75mm metal MAF, they moved the IAT sensor into the MAF.
    Yes, so the IAT input is through the MAF calculation and if you do not have a MAF the IAT sensor is useless?

    2000 C5 Coupe, 6M, Callies/Mahle stroked LS7 (441), Blackwing, Halltech, LS3 intake, 90mm Shaner TB, ported L92 heads, FAST 50# inj, not too much cam, Kooks 1 7/8" headers , 3" catless mid pipes, Z TIs, track suspension, , 3:90 rear, EFI V2, LM-2, etc.
    PowrMax Performance

    100 mm PowrMAF

    LM-2 EFILIve package with TAQ -sLM2 V-2 serial cable> Package deals

  6. #26
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Just get the IAT from a 2000 Camaro which mounts in a grommet in the air cleaner.

    Ira

  7. #27
    Lifetime Member Bruce Melton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    674

    Default

    Ira,
    I have a 2000 Vette which has an independant IAT sensor in a grommet on the air bridge but if I am running mafless it will have no relevant output into the MAF calculation?

    2000 C5 Coupe, 6M, Callies/Mahle stroked LS7 (441), Blackwing, Halltech, LS3 intake, 90mm Shaner TB, ported L92 heads, FAST 50# inj, not too much cam, Kooks 1 7/8" headers , 3" catless mid pipes, Z TIs, track suspension, , 3:90 rear, EFI V2, LM-2, etc.
    PowrMax Performance

    100 mm PowrMAF

    LM-2 EFILIve package with TAQ -sLM2 V-2 serial cable> Package deals

  8. #28
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    688

    Default

    Nope it sure wont

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    24

    Default

    So the fact I live in a State where temp/humidity/rain/snow/and all the other crazy weather can happen within an hour of each other has no bearing on if I should run a MAF? I do drive the car on clear days but humidity can be 99% or 0% and temps can be 10 - 110. Add to that the fact I would like to run a N02 150 shot sometimes. Can I still safely run without a MAF? I really do not want to screw with the car everytime I open the bottle.


    Thx

  10. #30
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    688

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1morews6
    So the fact I live in a State where temp/humidity/rain/snow/and all the other crazy weather can happen within an hour of each other has no bearing on if I should run a MAF? I do drive the car on clear days but humidity can be 99% or 0% and temps can be 10 - 110. Add to that the fact I would like to run a N02 150 shot sometimes. Can I still safely run without a MAF? I really do not want to screw with the car everytime I open the bottle.


    Thx
    A wet shot can run without the maf but a dry shot it wont happen. Unplug the maf and tune the ve table for a little see how you like it, see how it responds to weather changes and decide if you like it or not

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Stock tune for 06 C6 auto?
    By Bruce Melton in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 23rd, 2009, 12:47 AM
  2. 98 ls1 auto f13 tune help!!!
    By ls698ta in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 15th, 2008, 02:37 AM
  3. Auto Tune with Custom OS and no MAF???
    By BowlingSS in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 5th, 2005, 01:48 AM
  4. VY SS Auto tune ??
    By bink in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 25th, 2005, 03:58 AM
  5. Auto Tune Procedure
    By BowlingSS in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 27th, 2005, 12:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •