Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Setting up PLX with V2

  1. #1
    Senior Member mtnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    135

    Default Setting up PLX with V2

    Have I missed something in the V2 manual for information on this?

    I got the V2 hooked, up and after scanning, my Ben_plx2 cells (AutoTune) were way different than the day before when I used the FlashScan V1.

    Is the process as simple as clicking on the V2 icon in the scanning tool and clicking the "calibration" button? Or do I have to manually put in values for A2 (I'm using EXT.ad2) ?

    On the data tab, BEN_PLX2 averages 0.8
    AD2 (External Analog voltage) averages 1.00
    AFR_PLX2 averages 12.0 AFR
    AFR_PLX2 (volts) averages 1.0V
    2003 2500HD,E-Fans, LT headers, Corsa catback, Outlaw intake.

  2. #2
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Torden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    To use the calibrate option you need to be able to supply two stable voltages, one high and one low. Then the voltage is scaled/calculated between the two. This process is done before the unit ships so should not be necessary.

    If you have a digital volt meter you could always measure the voltage on the orange connectors and compare to what FlashScan is passing to the Scan Tool..
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  3. #3
    Senior Member mtnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tordne
    To use the calibrate option you need to be able to supply two stable voltages, one high and one low. Then the voltage is scaled/calculated between the two. This process is done before the unit ships so should not be necessary.

    If you have a digital volt meter you could always measure the voltage on the orange connectors and compare to what FlashScan is passing to the Scan Tool..
    It Plugs up just as before, right? I just unplugged (orange connector) it from the V1 and plugged it into the V2.

    White wire goes from PLX controller to WB linear output and Gray wire goes from PLX controller to NB output. This is how I had it setup with V1 and it worked correctly.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.JPG 
Views:	296 
Size:	24.3 KB 
ID:	1307  
    2003 2500HD,E-Fans, LT headers, Corsa catback, Outlaw intake.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,258

    Default

    mtnman,

    Hi there...

    Your PLX wiring should not need any changes.

    Turn your V2 over and look at the decal showing the 5V inputs...
    make sure you have the correct polarity:
    + is the wideband analog signal
    - is the wideband analog ground

    Edit: corrections in red...

    If you were using AD1 on V1, then the 3-bit orange plug should plug right into AD2-AD4 on V2.

    If you were using AD2 on V1, then you have to rewire the analog signal on the 3-bit orange plug (move it to the other end of the plug), and then you can plug it into
    AD2-AD4 on V2.

    If your V2 is showing voltages which are off by about 0.7V, do this (this is what Andrew said)...
    From the ScanTool, connect to V2, then go FlashScan->FlashScan V2 Control Panel
    then do this (instructions are shown in the panel):
    0. remember your PLX AFR-vs-V points,
    1. First make sure you have checkmarks on the AD1-4 channels that you are going to calibrate,
    2. program your PLX to output a flat 1.000V,
    3. measure this output voltage,
    4. enter this voltage (in mV) and press Initialize on the FlashScan V2 Control Panel,
    5. program your PLX to output a flat 4.000V,
    6. measure this output voltage,
    7. enter this voltage (in mV) and press Calibrate on the FlashScan V2 Control Panel,
    8. press OK/Finished,
    9. program your PLX back to the AFR-vs-V points.

    Shouldn't need to do this procedure as V2 should have already been calibrated at the factory.

    Joe


    Last edited by joecar; February 7th, 2007 at 11:19 AM.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Bruce Melton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    674

    Default

    Be very careful with your + and - on V2, as some are opposite depending on where you had the PLX plugged into the V1.

    2000 C5 Coupe, 6M, Callies/Mahle stroked LS7 (441), Blackwing, Halltech, LS3 intake, 90mm Shaner TB, ported L92 heads, FAST 50# inj, not too much cam, Kooks 1 7/8" headers , 3" catless mid pipes, Z TIs, track suspension, , 3:90 rear, EFI V2, LM-2, etc.
    PowrMax Performance

    100 mm PowrMAF

    LM-2 EFILIve package with TAQ -sLM2 V-2 serial cable> Package deals

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,258

    Default

    mtnman, see my corrections above in red ink.

  7. #7
    Senior Member mtnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Great info guys, thanks!
    2003 2500HD,E-Fans, LT headers, Corsa catback, Outlaw intake.

  8. #8
    Senior Member mtnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Ok, I corrected the wires and plugged the orange connector to the proper location on V2. Ran a scan and PLX AFR was 10.4min, 13.2avg, and 15.1max

    PLX V was 0.2min, 1.6avg, and 2.6 max.

    Cells on the ben_plx map ranged from 0.87-0.91, i pasted and multiplied those cells into the ve table and compared the new cell values to the vales of the VE table for a stock tune. Some of the higher SAE.MAP cells were much lower than the stock tune. For instance, 55/1600 was 79.95 stock and 75.23 from my latest scan. Cell 65/2000 was 79,98 stock and 76.09 from lastest scan.
    Do these values seem sane? I dont wanna run too lean and damage the engine.

    This post may need to be placed in another section (general?) since it also involves tuning.

    New tune left after paste of cells, stock truck tune right.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	newTuneAfterPast.JPG 
Views:	249 
Size:	104.5 KB 
ID:	1308   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oldStockTune.JPG 
Views:	245 
Size:	113.7 KB 
ID:	1309  
    Last edited by mtnman; February 8th, 2007 at 07:51 AM.
    2003 2500HD,E-Fans, LT headers, Corsa catback, Outlaw intake.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting up V2 for BBL...
    By joecar in forum Black Box Logging
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2011, 01:41 PM
  2. Help setting up LC1
    By Slow73 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 29th, 2009, 03:51 PM
  3. Help setting up AEM WB
    By SUPERTRUCKER in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 18th, 2009, 10:22 AM
  4. Setting up A0014
    By WHYTRYZ06 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 7th, 2008, 02:00 PM
  5. fan setting for ls2?
    By minytrker in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 15th, 2007, 03:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •