Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fuel Gauges in Aussie LS2s

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member oztracktuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    596

    Default Fuel Gauges in Aussie LS2s

    I have noticed issues with fuel gauges in Aussie LS2s. They may have the same operating system ute to sedan - but the gauge can indicate wrong after a tune. It can either stay up high too long or say that its empty very quickly when it still have plenty.

    I am wondering about the cause and also the way to fix it.
    Both issues have occurred after a base tune was used rather than a remodelled tune that was read from the actual car.
    Oztrack
    EFILive Tuning Consultant

    Worldwide Remote Tuning Service

    2006 NSW Super Street Drag Racing Champion

    www.oztrack.com.au


  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oztracktuning
    I have noticed issues with fuel gauges in Aussie LS2s. They may have the same operating system ute to sedan - but the gauge can indicate wrong after a tune. It can either stay up high too long or say that its empty very quickly when it still have plenty.

    I am wondering about the cause and also the way to fix it.
    Both issues have occurred after a base tune was used rather than a remodelled tune that was read from the actual car.
    ALWAYS , I REPEAT ALWAYS , tune the customers car using their base cal, dont wack a base tune in off the net or sucked out of another car as there are lots of differences betwen the cals , the VZ onwards has fuel guage stuff in the cal that you dont have access too that is individual to each car

  3. #3
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,162

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oztracktuning
    I have noticed issues with fuel gauges in Aussie LS2s. They may have the same operating system ute to sedan - but the gauge can indicate wrong after a tune. It can either stay up high too long or say that its empty very quickly when it still have plenty.

    I am wondering about the cause and also the way to fix it.
    Both issues have occurred after a base tune was used rather than a remodelled tune that was read from the actual car.
    Didn't I warn you about that Steve?, it's been a common problem, even on VZ LS1's, you need to use the base file from the vehicle.

    Cheers,
    Ross


  4. #4
    EFILive Reseller ringram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,411

    Default

    Aha, hence the 2bar custom OS's need to be based on the actual OS .tun from the vehicle.

    I was wondering why that was.
    Get EFILive in europe (http://www.efilive.eu).
    2007 Escalade ESV L92 6.2L VVT.
    2014 VF SV LS3 Maloo.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member oztracktuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    596

    Default

    The base files are not labelled differently. I did check and there are only 2 different operating systems for Aussie LS2s.... but there must be hidden settings that create more varieties than just the 2.
    Oztrack
    EFILive Tuning Consultant

    Worldwide Remote Tuning Service

    2006 NSW Super Street Drag Racing Champion

    www.oztrack.com.au


  6. #6
    EFILive Reseller ringram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,411

    Default

    Sounds like it might even be calibrated per vehicle during manufacuturing dude. Based on Delco's comment. "is individual to each car"
    Get EFILive in europe (http://www.efilive.eu).
    2007 Escalade ESV L92 6.2L VVT.
    2014 VF SV LS3 Maloo.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oztracktuning
    The base files are not labelled differently. I did check and there are only 2 different operating systems for Aussie LS2s.... but there must be hidden settings that create more varieties than just the 2.
    Calibrations arent labeled differently , look at the checksums , if they are different the cals are different.

    On the earlier PCM's DSKW was one of the most popular operating sysetms but there are hundreds of versions of it , holden change it monthly with revisions to the calibrations.

  8. #8
    Member TuneMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default

    The are different fuel guage calibrations for V6, V8, sedan, wagon, utility and AWD. The problem here is that the instument cluster fuel guage calibration requires the correct ECM calibration to work. Prior to VZ the sender was wired direct to the instrument cluster and only required the correct instrument cluster calibration. VZ and later the sender was wired to the ECM and the information was sent via serial or can bus to the instrument cluster. Both calibrations in the cluster and ECM have to be in sync.

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member oztracktuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    596

    Default

    OK thanks to Delco - now having investigated all the codes and checksums. Make sure the fuel system checksum is the same. Then you know you have the same settings.
    Oztrack
    EFILive Tuning Consultant

    Worldwide Remote Tuning Service

    2006 NSW Super Street Drag Racing Champion

    www.oztrack.com.au


Similar Threads

  1. Aussie pest control
    By mr.prick in forum Lounge
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 11th, 2010, 12:09 PM
  2. Aussie hits homerun
    By mr.prick in forum Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 7th, 2009, 09:41 AM
  3. Aussie VX V6 Series 2 commodore
    By marcu5 in forum EFILive V4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 22nd, 2009, 07:50 PM
  4. Electronic Throttle Tables for LS2s?
    By Acer in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 21st, 2007, 05:04 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 7th, 2006, 02:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •