Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: starts for 1 sec and then dies

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default starts for 1 sec and then dies

    I THOUGHT for sure this was the theft setting i had read about but stumbled on something that fixed mine. I dunno why but changing my maf table to all zeros even though i am OLSD would kill the car immediately and it wouldnt restart..well start then die after 1 sec. Undo maf change and it would start. I did it 3 times in a row. Once it was running, i had rr set to update on the fly...set all maf table to zero and it didnt die. Weird. The other weird thing it did was this...scan and tune running.. connected...rr set to update realtime...went to clear codes and car died immediately....started back up but was strange doing that

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,092

    Default

    important thing to remember is to make sure the PCM knows the MAF has failed. A common mistake it people turn OFF the DTC check for P0102, you must not do that. You need to have the P0102 MIL set to Off, but leave P0102 DTC check enabled.
    The PCM runs in SD mode initially anyway (MAF or no MAF), if it does not know the MAF is dead (or missing) it will still attempt to run off the MAF and not default to SD after the engine has fired.

    Cheers,
    Ross


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default

    ahh...ok mil off but 102dtc set to 1-2-0r 3? I am assuming 3-non emissions. Please verify that for me. I will change it in just a few minutes and post the results

  4. #4
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,092

    Default

    3 will be fine


  5. #5
    Guess who's back!!!! Black02SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,355

    Default

    What did you come up with? Did this fix your problem.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default

    yes it did! My 15 yo daughter and I were out running around in the car and she was the one getting the autove data logs and applying them to the roadrunner in realtime driving down the road...just AWESOME. Once i start to play with RTACS, who knows how much fun ill have.

  7. #7
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,092

    Default

    Now that's better than playing with Barbie dolls!


Similar Threads

  1. Car starts but won't stay running
    By brianjw4 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 10th, 2009, 10:37 AM
  2. Loaded Custom OS: 03Z06..starts/dies after 1 sec
    By Earl H in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 7th, 2007, 08:55 AM
  3. Cold Start: Starts and stalls...
    By 808ws6 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 20th, 2007, 08:34 PM
  4. 01 to 02 conversion - no starts
    By Max Power in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2006, 02:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •