Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Use MAF for off boost/2 Bar SD when in boost

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    58

    Default Use MAF for off boost/2 Bar SD when in boost

    Guys,

    I have a TT all bore '03 Z06. It currently runs high 9's at 144+mph. I want to get a bit more aggressive (i.e. turn up the boost). My car is currently tuned with the MAF. My tuner is responsible for the progress thus far. I have tuned my car in the past and I am slowly getting back into the swing of things. Now, I have just recently loaded in the COS. I have a 2 bar map sensor on order and will be installing it asap. I am getting my tune ready for 2 bar tuning(see attachment). My question is, can I use the current MAF tune for 105kpa and below and the 2 bar SD tune above that? If so, could I get some advice on how to set it up?

    I am currently reading as much as i can while awaiting responses to this thread. Thanks in advance for the help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Earl,

    I'm putting COS5/2bar on my car ASAP. Just reading a little more before taking the plunge. 2bar sensor is sitting here in front of me so it's really just a matter of me finding the right COS5 for my 12593358 PCM

    JMHO, and there are other experts here that I am sure will chime in soon, but I think you really want to tune the car "completely", e.g., not rely on VE data from a tune that depended on the MAF (unless you know for sure that Phil tuned VE with the MAF disabled at some point). Anyway, to tune your boost table you have to log the same PIDs as you'd need to tune your main VE table so you might as well go over the whole thing and make sure both of them are nice and clean. Plus I would imagine things could get ugly transitioning from one VE table to the other if you didn't do a fresh AutoVE for both together.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member hquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,356

    Default

    I adjusted the Boost VE table to what I believe the tutorial says it should be.
    50% though instead of 300.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Howard

    YOU ONLY NEED TWO TOOLS IN LIFE - WD-40 AND DUCT TAPE. IF IT DOESN'T
    MOVE AND SHOULD, USE THE WD-40. IF IT SHOULDN'T MOVE AND DOES, USE THE
    DUCT TAPE.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.


    98 K1500 'HOLDEN' Suburban.
    Custom Whipple SC, Mercruiser Marine intake, 0411 PCM, 4L80E w/shift kit

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member 5.7ute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,836

    Default

    As diynoob states the ve table will be incorrect with the help of the boost so it will need to be remapped.
    As for running off the maf & then SD this will not work. If the maf fails over 105 kpa It will use the 1bar ve table only. If the maf fail is before 105 kpa it will transition into the 2 bar table but will not reenable the maf until the engine is switched on & off & the pcm runs through its tests. If you are going to be going over the 512g/sec limit of the maf just tune in SD. Otherwise tune both ve tables & then recheck your maf tune.

  5. #5

    Default

    With the 03 OS you shouldn't have to worry about retuning the 105kpa and below if the original MAF included tune was mapped correctly. The VE should have already been mapped independent of the MAF and the MAF independent of the MAP. This would result in you being able to copy the tables from the MAF tune over to the new COS. At that point you should really only have to fine tune the below 105kpa and then tune boost pressure tables. What kind of boost pressure is your setup running?
    Aaron L.
    Conover, NC

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Update: decided to go ahead and spend the time to do a full SD tune. I have been working for about a week re-learning the software and re-learning some old tuning procedures and learning many new ones. My BENs are almost all in the .99 to 1.01 range for the cells that matter (i.e. not decel and other parts of the map that aren't really used).

    I will be tuning WOT at the track this friday. My baseline runs on the street show that the vehicle is tracking pretty well to what is being commanded at 105+kPA range.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member hquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,356

    Default

    Has the AutoVE tutorial been changed yet regarding the 'setting the commanded AFR to 14.7' which allows LTFT's to operate?
    Howard

    YOU ONLY NEED TWO TOOLS IN LIFE - WD-40 AND DUCT TAPE. IF IT DOESN'T
    MOVE AND SHOULD, USE THE WD-40. IF IT SHOULDN'T MOVE AND DOES, USE THE
    DUCT TAPE.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.


    98 K1500 'HOLDEN' Suburban.
    Custom Whipple SC, Mercruiser Marine intake, 0411 PCM, 4L80E w/shift kit

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    165

    Default

    i have a question how can this car be running with the maf enabled i am only seeing 6# of boost and that is setting off a maf frequency fail i am running sd anyway just curious
    2002 ws6 stock short block
    GMPP cnc LS6 Heads 11.4:1 cr
    .576 i .581 e 116 lobe
    D1SC @ 10#
    723 rwhp 654 rwtq on E-85

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hquick
    Has the AutoVE tutorial been changed yet regarding the 'setting the commanded AFR to 14.7' which allows LTFT's to operate?
    Please elaborate..I thought commanded was supposed to be 14.63 (stoic)?

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Any cells in B3647 that are set to AFR 14.63 will cause the PCM to run in "semi-closed loop" mode...
    for those cells, the PCM uses NBO2 feedback and applies STFT; you can't do AVE like this.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What AFR in Boost?
    By zapp168 in forum Forced Induction and Nitrous Oxide (N20)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 24th, 2007, 12:03 AM
  2. Boost and EGT's
    By minytrker in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 14th, 2007, 02:41 AM
  3. Can you log boost?
    By AustinL911A in forum General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 5th, 2006, 06:55 AM
  4. What happens when you go into boost?
    By hpcubed in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: March 29th, 2005, 04:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •