Thread: Bottle neck? How to determine if present

Default Bottle neck? How to determine if present

I have been banging my head against the wall for about two months now and cant seem to figure out if my engine is getting the air it deserves. How do you determine if it is getting the proper amount? What needs to be logged? Are there calculations involved?

Thanks,
    ..RJ..

Maybe I didnt ask this question correctly what i am actually asking for the more general public is how do you decide when your engine has outgrown the intake or throttle body or in my case if my airbox isn't flowing enough air.

Start with MAP in Kpa, should read around 101Kpa with ignition on and motor NOT running.
    At WOT if it gets below 100 Kpa or so then your starting to get a restriction upstream of the plenum (Throttle opening, Throttle body, Intake filter/pipe system etc. Downstream is harder to determine without swapping manifolds or flowbenches etc.
    My std car used to get down to 93-94 Kpa at WOT in the mid to upper rpm, so there was a fair bit of improving to be done. New filter setup and SD tuning without the MAF got it upto a steady 99-100 Kpa right upto 6200rpm limiter

Quote Originally Posted by TNT76
    Start with MAP in Kpa, should read around 101Kpa with ignition on and motor NOT running.
    At WOT if it gets below 100 Kpa or so then your starting to get a restriction upstream of the plenum (Throttle opening, Throttle body, Intake filter/pipe system etc. Downstream is harder to determine without swapping manifolds or flowbenches etc.
    My std car used to get down to 93-94 Kpa at WOT in the mid to upper rpm, so there was a fair bit of improving to be done. New filter setup and SD tuning without the MAF got it upto a steady 99-100 Kpa right upto 6200rpm limiter