Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Programming the DIC

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Whippled 496's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    202

    Default Programming the DIC

    I know the new version of software displays, "reflash in progress" or something like that when its uploading or downloading a new tune file. Is it possible with EFILive to change anything else in the DIC? I want to display my name instead of, "Driver 1" when I start the car with Key 1. I know it can be done, but will Ross or Paul give us the goods to do it?
    2014 GMC 2500HD RCLB SLE
    LML / Allison

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member eboggs_jkvl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    757

    Default

    RTFM and do it the way it reads. I have my name to display on the DIC upon startup.

    You lazy thing you!



    Elmer

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Whippled 496's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eboggs_jkvl
    RTFM and do it the way it reads. I have my name to display on the DIC upon startup.

    You lazy thing you!



    Elmer
    ???

    I have a truck, not a Vette. I know you can do it with the Vette. I want to do it with the DIC in my truck. Read what manual, the one for your Vette? LMAO!
    2014 GMC 2500HD RCLB SLE
    LML / Allison

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Chevy366's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,603

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Whippled 496
    ???

    I have a truck, not a Vette. I know you can do it with the Vette. I want to do it with the DIC in my truck. Read what manual, the one for your Vette? LMAO!
    The DIC readout change would be nice , I am sure yours says what mine does "EFILIVE FLASHSCAN" , "FLASH IN PROGRESS" , "www.efilive.com" then at the end "EFILIVE FINISHED" .
    Someone on here has a dash with " Tuned with EFILive" as their sig , even if it was limited to 20 characters long it would be nice .
    Last edited by Chevy366; June 25th, 2007 at 09:08 AM.
    2005 1500 HD , Custom OS3 SD tune .
    2006 Trailblazer
    Dinosaurs and Plants gave their lives so that we may drive , long live fossil fuel .

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member eboggs_jkvl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Whippled 496
    ???

    I have a truck, not a Vette. I know you can do it with the Vette. I want to do it with the DIC in my truck. Read what manual, the one for your Vette? LMAO!
    AAACK! My bad, thought you had the other kind of DIC! Sorry 'bout that.


    Elmer

  6. #6
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,755

    Default

    The messages displayed on the DIC is an editable text file "Messages.txt" located here -
    My Documents\EFILive\V7\User Configuration

    It will display 3 messages, however, sometimes depending on how busy the comms bus is the DIC might miss one.

    As for a permanent display upon start up, it would require a cluster reflash. Neat yes, but we can't place it as a high priority.

    Cheers,
    Ross
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Chevy366's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,603

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX
    The messages displayed on the DIC is an editable text file "Messages.txt" located here -
    My Documents\EFILive\V7\User Configuration

    It will display 3 messages, however, sometimes depending on how busy the comms bus is the DIC might miss one.

    As for a permanent display upon start up, it would require a cluster reflash. Neat yes, but we can't place it as a high priority.

    Cheers,
    Ross
    Thanks for the info , "editable" hmmm , "cluster reflash" no wonder .
    Last edited by Chevy366; July 7th, 2007 at 03:56 PM.
    2005 1500 HD , Custom OS3 SD tune .
    2006 Trailblazer
    Dinosaurs and Plants gave their lives so that we may drive , long live fossil fuel .

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I know this is old, but can we do a cluster flash now? I was also curious on how to make my dials sweep across the gauges and back down to normal upon key on

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member Boost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    I can make the dials sweep without tuning... there is a looong stretch from Miami to the Florida Keys here
    - Roland
    GM dealer tech since 2005
    '01 Z28 LS1/T56
    t-tops :usa:
    stock 241 heads, stock cam,
    stock muffler, factory wheels

    8.2 @ 86
    (1/8th mile with 255 Toyo Proxes)
    I am learning...

Similar Threads

  1. programming LC-1
    By z06ufgrad2002 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 18th, 2009, 09:22 AM
  2. Need Help Re-Programming The BCM
    By cwksf in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 26th, 2009, 02:05 PM
  3. T42 Programming Problems
    By arubenstein in forum 4speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T42)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2008, 05:55 PM
  4. Issues with LS7 programming
    By Jason S. in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: March 11th, 2008, 10:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •