Thread: Pics and a short idle video of 'The Biscuit' after waking from her coma

Default Pics and a short idle video of 'The Biscuit' after waking from her coma

6 Months ago I dropped a big fat very hard steel washer down Seabiscuit's throat and killed her. You may remember the thread I posted in confession as a way to quench my deep depression from committing such a heinous act. In my quest to make things right with 'The Biscuit' I spent the entire fall and most of the winter rebuilding her to hopefully better than new. This was the first time I had done anything of this magnatude with a car. I'm a software engineer. Sure when I was fresh out of high school I wrenched on my old 327 in my 55 Chevy, but I never replaced an engine. With the biscuit I swapped heads and cam, installed headers, intake, tuned it with EFILive, etc., but I never performed a complete transplant.

I got some pics together to show some of the final assembly. This is after the first 3 'heat cycles', i.e. drive it like you stole it to seat the rings asap and then retorque the head studs. Thanks to Roberta, my wife for coming out into the cold garage and snapping a few.

So I'd like to thank, first of all, Tony Mamo. His port work is fantastic But much more than that was his advice, and there was a lot because I had questions and asked them, he didn't have to answer them, but he did. After an initial conversation to nail down a goal he spec'd the cam. Then we figured out the quench, came to a final decision on compression ratio, I had a knee jerk reaction to go higher, but he pulled me back a little because I want to run pump gas and use the Torco sparingly. We talked about how the valvetrain would be set up, what springs, etc. He installed new guides and we redid the valve seats. I called him with a few panic things, but he always assured me I was going in the right direction. Tony, I owe you big props and if I can ever help you out in some way please call.