Page 13 of 17 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 167

Thread: Auto Tuning - Step-by-Step

  1. #121
    Lifetime Member eboggs_jkvl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    757

    Question

    With the addition of the 98s, is there any change to the autotuning process or steps? Do the 98s have the ability to do ALL of the steps and processes listed in "Autotuning"?

    Elmer
    2014 Corvette Convertible, Torch Red, A6, Z51, 3LT, NPP Exhaust



  2. #122
    Senior Member WicketMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eboggs_jkvl
    With the addition of the 98s, is there any change to the autotuning process or steps? Do the 98s have the ability to do ALL of the steps and processes listed in "Autotuning"?

    Elmer
    I was wondering this also.

    I also have a few other questions.
    On the autoVE tuning, we are basicly getting all the cells to be 0 which will be at 14.63 AFR, correct? and what about WOT, are we suppose to hit the higher maps and get those at 14.63 also? and then do WOT tuning thru the Pe vs. RPM table after Autove is done?

    98' White TA A4 TSP 231/237 PP Stage II 59cc heads
    401rwhp (unlocked) 1.594 60'-11.60 e.t.-116.98 mph
    ---------
    98' Sport Gold Metallic TA M6 - 13.39 e.t. Bone Stock
    My Trans Ams
    ---------
    2006 Chevy Monte Carlo SS 5.3L LS4 (wifes car) stock (for now)

  3. #123
    EFILive Reseller ringram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,412

    Default

    Auto tune compares commanded vs actual and the difference is your BEN value. (% error)

    Which you can then multiply the actual by in order for it to match commanded. (adjustment)

    Therefore at WOT you can command 12.5:1 if you like in B3647 with OS3.

    However if you are runinng a stock OS you must disable PE mode as per the autotune instructions, you will see B3605 for open loop has enrichment for high MAP rates. So you should be pretty safe anyway.

    Its not hugely important that you are tuning to 14.63 but what is important is that your commanded and actual values are accurately compared.

    DFCO, PE and often lean cruise can make this less accurate, hence they are turned off.
    Get EFILive in europe (http://www.efilive.eu).
    2007 Escalade ESV L92 6.2L VVT.
    2014 VF SV LS3 Maloo.

  4. #124
    Senior Member WicketMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    112

    Default

    thanks,

    The commanded is always 14.63 for me, i have noticed in some of the higher maps at low rpms that it is actually 16.xx.
    I have a stock OS.

  5. #125
    Senior Member WicketMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    112

    Default

    In the B3605 "commanded fuel when in open loop" table.

    I set it like it says in the AutoVE of 1.13 (12.95afr) at 75map and higher at 40c and higher, but when i do my logging and look at it afterwards it says the commanded is 16.58.

    why isnt it 12.95??

    thanks

    Mike

    98' White TA A4 TSP 231/237 PP Stage II 59cc heads
    401rwhp (unlocked) 1.594 60'-11.60 e.t.-116.98 mph
    ---------
    98' Sport Gold Metallic TA M6 - 13.39 e.t. Bone Stock
    My Trans Ams
    ---------
    2006 Chevy Monte Carlo SS 5.3L LS4 (wifes car) stock (for now)

  6. #126
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WicketMike
    In the B3605 "commanded fuel when in open loop" table.

    I set it like it says in the AutoVE of 1.13 (12.95afr) at 75map and higher at 40c and higher, but when i do my logging and look at it afterwards it says the commanded is 16.58.

    why isnt it 12.95??

    thanks

    Mike

    Good question. My commanded AFR has always matched the values in the "commanded fuel when in open loop" table.

    John

  7. #127
    Senior Member WicketMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jnorris
    Good question. My commanded AFR has always matched the values in the "commanded fuel when in open loop" table.

    John
    Im hoping somebody can help with this.

    If you take the 1.00 which is 14.63 and times it by the 1.13 you get 16.53 (16.58 acutally) which is what its commanding at those higher maps.

    why would mine be going the wrong way? and if thats the case, i wonder if thats one of the reasons why im lean on cold starts, cuz that would be me in the 17.'s at cold idle 1.17*14.63=17.12


    ADDED:
    I went to the Edit>Properties>Display and changed lamda to AFR and then went back and looked at the table and sure enough, it says 16.58 instead of 12.95.

    please help

    thanks
    Last edited by WicketMike; January 7th, 2006 at 02:51 PM.

    98' White TA A4 TSP 231/237 PP Stage II 59cc heads
    401rwhp (unlocked) 1.594 60'-11.60 e.t.-116.98 mph
    ---------
    98' Sport Gold Metallic TA M6 - 13.39 e.t. Bone Stock
    My Trans Ams
    ---------
    2006 Chevy Monte Carlo SS 5.3L LS4 (wifes car) stock (for now)

  8. #128
    EFILive Reseller ringram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,412

    Default

    Lambda and EQ are opposites of each other (inverse!), I think this has been answered by Blacky in another thread. Best idea for me anyway is to use AFR in all fueling tables as its less confusing.
    Get EFILive in europe (http://www.efilive.eu).
    2007 Escalade ESV L92 6.2L VVT.
    2014 VF SV LS3 Maloo.

  9. #129
    Lifetime Member ZL1Killa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    250

    Default

    if you want an AFR of 14.63 you set your PE based on rpm table to 1.00

    here is an attached excel sheet of some AFR's for ya, its a zip file but if you can't unzip it send me your email address
    Attached Files Attached Files
    01 T/A WS6 #4984 STOCK 342HP and 352TQ [/b]MODS:Too many to list, PM...funny rear mount.. father/son build.
    [Quote :ur car is sneezing!!!!]
    I KNOW KUNG FU.
    My STS build: http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631954
    453HP 475TQ @6psi
    .....CAM'd, IC'd, and 7psi'd #'s coming.....

  10. #130
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,010

    Default

    EQ = 1/Lambda = Stoich/AFR

    Rich: EQ > 1 or Lambda < 1 or AFR < Stoich
    Lean: EQ < 1 or Lambda > 1 or AFR > Stoich

    It can be easy to work with EQ; for example, EQ 1.02 is the same as saying 2% rich.

Page 13 of 17 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ** Next Step? **
    By Nemo in forum Duramax LLY
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 15th, 2009, 04:56 PM
  2. BBL Step by Step Tutorial ?
    By JR-CRUZN-C5 in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 29th, 2008, 10:28 PM
  3. 2 step
    By minytrker in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 16th, 2007, 01:01 AM
  4. step by step torque managment,speed limiter,efan,engine torq
    By 5.3 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 24th, 2005, 10:12 PM
  5. SD Step by Step
    By mistermike in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: June 28th, 2005, 02:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •