Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 86

Thread: I made a cable for BB Logging

  1. #21
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Doe
    Ok, now its clear. I found a source that showed the opposite. Either way, I'll just make sure they're in the right location regardless of number. Fantastic illustration!
    Ok so I did some more looking and there is some confusion about how to number those pins (most of the confusion is in my head).

    Looks like I got it backwards and as Kevin said, the pins are numbered 1 to 6 from left to right.

    I'll redo my post and images. That'll really confuse people when they read the thread in a few months time.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  2. #22
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dopey
    Excuse my ignorance, but is the mono 3.5mm jack on the plx controllers a std serial stream? If so this would also apply to them if im not mistaken?
    I don't know what the pins are on the PLX but the tip and the middle witll be either send or receive and the base will be ground.
    However, it does not output a serial voltage level.

    RS232 serial operates at +/- 12V. The PLX outputs a 5V signal. You need to run the signal through a voltage level shifter (sucah as a max232 chip) to correctly use it with FlashScan (or any true RS232 connection).

    See here for an example:
    http://www.plxdevices.com/forum/view...0a9f48638bee53


    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  3. #23
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    To avoid confusion I'll clean this thread in a few days.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky
    I don't know what the pins are on the PLX but the tip and the middle witll be either send or receive and the base will be ground.
    However, it does not output a serial voltage level.

    RS232 serial operates at +/- 12V. The PLX outputs a 5V signal. You need to run the signal through a voltage level shifter (sucah as a max232 chip) to correctly use it with FlashScan (or any true RS232 connection).

    See here for an example:
    http://www.plxdevices.com/forum/view...0a9f48638bee53


    Regards
    Paul
    Thank you for the response, would this circuit induce much of a lag to the reading?

    Also any chance of a schematic?

    Cheers
    Last edited by Dopey; March 20th, 2008 at 07:00 PM.

  5. #25
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dopey
    Thank you for the response, would this circuit induce much of a lag to the reading?

    Also any chance of a schematic?

    Cheers
    Zero lag.

    There should be a gazzillion web pages showing how to use the MAX232 chip. Here's one:
    http://sodoityourself.com/max232-ser...vel-converter/

    Disclaimer, I am not an electronics engineer so I have no idea if that circuit is appropriate for the PLX, but it looks similar to other max232 circuits I have used.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  6. #26
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,762

    Default

    just a FYI. My cable Worked like a charm
    "All that is needed for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing..."

  7. #27
    Lifetime Member hymey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Paul. I am assuming I will be able to use my LM-1 Innovate as they have the same configuration as the LC1 and all I will need to do is make a cable?

  8. #28
    Lifetime Member JezzaB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    246

    Default



    Mine works too!!!

    Flicks between 14.70 and 14.74

  9. #29
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hymey
    Paul. I am assuming I will be able to use my LM-1 Innovate as they have the same configuration as the LC1 and all I will need to do is make a cable?
    You do not need to make one. All you have to do is use the genderchanger with null modem capabilities...

    Making the cable is optional and its for simplicity. I am using an LM1.

    Thing is... sadly i have to use 2 cables :S the serial one from the lm1 and the one i made, i wish that the lm1 had the serial db9 connector.
    "All that is needed for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing..."

  10. #30
    Lifetime Member hymey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Highlander

    Thing is... sadly i have to use 2 cables :S the serial one from the lm1 and the one i made, i wish that the lm1 had the serial db9 connector.
    I would Highlander but I don't have a DB9 cable in my efilive kit.

    Are you running from the serial port that we use with LM programmer on the PC? Or the analogue output on the bottom?

    cheers

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The monkey made me do it.
    By mr.prick in forum Lounge
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 12th, 2009, 01:02 PM
  2. now I know I made the right choice
    By limited cv8r in forum Lounge
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: November 21st, 2007, 04:40 PM
  3. Just made an interesting find
    By shakinlm7 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 5th, 2007, 10:59 AM
  4. Made 751 Rwhp On Only 14 Psi Thanks To Efilive!! Vid!
    By nitrorocket in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 7th, 2006, 01:59 PM
  5. Anyone made a custom mpg (or km/L) PID?
    By thunder550 in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 17th, 2006, 03:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •