Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BBL data display/record decimal places

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Kevin Doe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    273

    Default BBL data display/record decimal places

    When viewing or recording data on the V2 I see two decimal places on several parameters (AFR as an example) when viewing in metric mode, but in imperial mode it removes all decimal points and rounds to the nearest whole number.

    For some things this is fine (IAT, ECT, RPM, etc), however for AFR I need the two decimal points of accuracy when viewing. How can I change the formatting of the imperial conversion?

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    I saw no decimal places (so AFR was rounded to 15) in metric or imperial.

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,490

    Default

    Changing to Custom units it should not affect the AFR PID (or any PID) that does not have an entry in the *PCU section of the Options.ini file.

    But if you do want to set up your own display format for AFR, then add an entry to the *PCU section for any PID that you want to customize.
    Example:

    PCM, AFR, AFR, 2, :1, *, 1.0, 0.0

    The fields are (in order):
    1. Controller type (Note: PCM will match both PCM and ECM)
    2. PID Name
    3. Caption to be displayed on FlashScan's screen
    4. Precision (number of decimal places to display)
    5. Units text to be displayed after the vale
    6. Operator: *, / or i (i=invert and multiply)
    7. Factor is the factor to multiply by.
    8. Offset is the value to add.
    You can even do transforms such as covneting EQRatio to AFR like this:

    PCM, EQIVRATIO, AFR, 2, :1, i, 14.7, 0.0

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    Is this how:

    Code:
    *PCU
    ;
    ;   PID      Caption  Prec Units Op    Factor        Offset
    ;   -------- -------- ---- ----- -- ------------- -------------
    PCM,ECT,     Coolant,    0,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAP,     M'Fold,     1,psi,   /,     6.894757,
    PCM,VSS,     Speed,      0,mph,   /,     1.609344,
    PCM,SPARKADV,Spark
    PCM,EQIVRATIO,EQ,        3,EQ,
    PCM,EQIVRATIO,AFR,       3,AFR,   i,     14.63,
    PCM,IAT,     Intake,     0,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAF,     AirFlow,    1,lb/m,  /,     7.559873,
    PCM,TP,      Throttle
    PCM,KR,      Knock
    -,  T1,      T1,         1,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    -,  T2,      T2,         1,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    Can I omit the "rest of the line" as shown by example of MAP, SPARKADV, MAF, TP, KR...?
    Last edited by joecar; March 27th, 2008 at 11:42 AM.

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    Here's the first part of my Options.ini file (my changes in red):

    Code:
    *PSL_LS1
    ;
    ;Node PIDs (pid1|pid2|...|pidn)  Alarm (min:max:style:time*10ms:hold*sec)
    ;---- -------------------------- -----------------------------------------
    PCM,  ECT,                       -40:110:1:1:0
    PCM,  GEAR
    PCM,  IAT
    PCM,  LONGFT1
    PCM,  LONGFT2
    PCM,  MAF
    PCM,  MAP
    PCM,  RPM,                       0:6500:2:1:0
    PCM,  SPARKADV
    PCM,  TP
    PCM,  VSS
    PCM,  EQIVRATIO
    PCM,  HO2S11
    PCM,  HO2S21
    PCM,  IBPW1
    PCM,  IBPW2
    PCM,  KR
    PCM,  TCCMODE
    PCM,  MFTOTAL
    -,    WO2LAM1
    -,    WO2LAM2
    -,    WO2AFR1
    -,    WO2AFR2
    Those 19 pids add up to 24 channels (14*1 + 5*2 = 24).
    Last edited by joecar; March 27th, 2008 at 11:52 AM.

  6. #6
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar
    Is this how:

    Code:
    *PCU
    ;
    ;   PID      Caption  Prec Units Op    Factor        Offset
    ;   -------- -------- ---- ----- -- ------------- -------------
    PCM,ECT,     Coolant,    0,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAP,     M'Fold,     1,psi,   /,     6.894757,
    PCM,VSS,     Speed,      0,mph,   /,     1.609344,
    PCM,SPARKADV,Spark
    PCM,EQIVRATIO,EQ,        3,EQ,
    PCM,EQIVRATIO,AFR,       3,AFR,   i,     14.63,
    PCM,IAT,     Intake,     0,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAF,     AirFlow,    1,lb/m,  /,     7.559873,
    PCM,TP,      Throttle
    PCM,KR,      Knock
    -,  T1,      T1,         1,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    -,  T2,      T2,         1,°F,    *,     1.8,          32.0
    Can I omit the "rest of the line" as shown by example of MAP, SPARKADV, MAF, TP, KR...?
    You can only have the PID listed once. You can't define two different ways to display it when you have selected custom on FlashScan.

    Whatever parameters you leave off the end will default to the following values:
    Caption: PID's standard/metric caption
    Prec: PID's standard/metric precision
    Units: PID's standard/metric units
    Op: *
    Factor: 1.0
    Offset: 0.0

    Edit: Caption, Prec and Units default to blank or 0. I mean to change them to default to the original PID's values.
    Edit take 2: Caption, Prec and Units DO default to the original PID's values.

    Regards
    Paul
    Last edited by Blacky; March 27th, 2008 at 12:02 PM.
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Kevin Doe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    273

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky
    Changing to Custom units it should not affect the AFR PID (or any PID) that does not have an entry in the *PCU section of the Options.ini file.

    Regards
    Paul
    I hear you on that, however that is not what mine is doing. Here is my options.ini file that i was testin with.

    Code:
    ;  _______________________________________________________________________
    ; |                                                                       |
    ; |                         Copyright © 1999-2007                         |
    ; |                            EFILive Limited                            |
    ; |                      web: http://www.efilive.com                      |
    ; |                        email: info@efilive.com                        |
    ; |_______________________________________________________________________|
    ;
    ; Modifications
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    ; Version | When        | Who | Why
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    ; 8.0     | 2007-Feb-16 | PSB | Created file
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    ;
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    *VEHICLES
    ;
    ;Vehicle selection list
    ;----------------------
    ;
    ; Cap1 and Cap2 form the "on-screen" display option from which the user may select.
    ; Controllers lists 1 or 2 "&" seperated pid memory map (*.pmm) files.
    ; PSL is the PID Selection defined later in this file
    ; PCU is the PID Custom Units defined later in this file
    ;
    ;Cap1       Cap2     Controllers (Engine&Trans) PSL           PCU
    ;-------    -------- -------------------------- ----------    --------
    
    FD_Gen,           ,  LS1B_M.pmm,                FD_Gen,       PCU
    FD_Idle,          ,  LS1B_M.pmm,                FD_Idle,      PCU
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    ;
    ; PID Selection List
    ; ----------------------
    ;
    ; Node:  Is one of PCM, ECM or TCM (use "-" for external PIDs).
    ; PIDs:  Is one or more "|" seperated PID names. The first valid PID will be used.
    ; Alarm: Is 5 ":" seperated fields:
    ;        min:   Minimum value, below which the alarm will sound.
    ;        max:   Maximum value, above which the alarm will sound.
    ;        style: Is one of:
    ;                0 = No sound, No LEDs
    ;                1 = Low pitch
    ;                2 = Medium Pitch
    ;                3 = High Pitch
    ;                4 = Very high Pitch
    ;               16 = Illuminate LED 1
    ;               32 = Illuminate LED 2
    ;               48 = Illuminate LED 3
    ;               64 = Illuminate LED 4
    ;               80 = Illuminate LED 5
    ;               Add Pitch and LED values together to enable audio and visual alarms.
    ;               For example, for Medium Pitch and LED 4, use 2+64 = 66
    ;        time:  Time (in 10ms increments) for which alarm will be sounded.
    ;        hold:  Time (in seconds) for which the displayed value will be frozen (not implemented yet).
    ;
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    *FD_Gen
    ;
    ;Node PIDs (pid1|pid2|...|pidn)  Alarm (min:max:style:time*10ms:hold*sec)
    ;---- -------------------------- -----------------------------------------
    PCM,  RPM,                       0:6500:2:1:0
    PCM,  TP
    PCM,  AFR
    -,    WO2AFR1
    PCM,  KR
    PCM,  SPARKADV
    PCM,  ECT,                       -40:110:1:1:0
    PCM,  IAT
    PCM,  DYNCYLAIR_M
    PCM,  MAP
    PCM,  VSS
    PCM,  EOP
    
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    *FD_Idle
    ;
    ;Node PIDs (pid1|pid2|...|pidn)  Alarm (min:max:style:time*10ms:hold*sec)
    ;---- -------------------------- -----------------------------------------
    ; Update with FD idle parameters.
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    ;
    ;
    ;
    ; PID Custom Units
    ; ----------------------
    ;
    ; PCU specifies the controller and PID for which to define a custom unit
    ; Caption is the caption displayed on screen during BB logging (8 characters maximum).
    ; Prec is the number of decimal places to display
    ; Units is the display units name.
    ; Op is the operator, one of:
    ;   * = multiply
    ;   / = divide
    ;   i = invert_then_multiply
    ; The metric value of the PID is multiplied, divided or inverted then multiplied by Factor.
    ; Offset is then added.
    ;
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    *PCU
    ;
    ;   PID       Caption   Prec Units Op    Factor        Offset
    ;   --------  --------  ---- ----- --    ------------- -------------
    PCM,ECT,      ECT,      0,   °F,    *,   1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAP,      MAP
    PCM,VSS,      VSS,      0,   mph,   /,   1.609344,
    PCM,SPARKADV, SPARKADV
    PCM,IAT,      IAT,      0,   °F,    *,   1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAF,      AirFlow,  1,   lb/m,  /,   7.559873,
    PCM,TP,       TP
    PCM,KR,       KR
    -,  T1,       T1,       1,   °F,    *,   1.8,          32.0
    -,  T2,       T2,       1,   °F,    *,   1.8,          32.0

    In custom units, AFR, W02AFR1, EOP, and all the external voltages show up with no decimal places. None of those are in my *PCU section.

  8. #8
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,490

    Default

    Yes, I see what you're saying. My fault again.
    Score: Kevin 3, Blacky: 0

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member Kevin Doe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    273

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky
    Yes, I see what you're saying. My fault again.
    Score: Kevin 3, Blacky: 0

    Regards
    Paul
    LOL. Don't look at it that way! You're doing great work here. I know EXACTLY how you feel. I am a control logic developer for GE aircraft engines. You AWLAYS find lots of bugs when you actually build software and run it.

    I did some more testing. I was able to fix the AFR parameter by defining custom units for it in the *PCU section. However I was unable to have any effect on -,W02AFR1 by defining custom units in the *PCU sectionl.

    Here is the excerpt from my options.ini file that has been updated.


    Code:
    ; _________________________________________________________________________
    *PCU
    ;
    ;   PID         Caption     Prec Units Op    Factor        Offset
    ;   --------    --------    ---- ----- --    ------------- -------------
    PCM,ECT,        ECT,        0,   °F,    *,   1.8,          32.0
    PCM,MAP,        MAP
    PCM,VSS,        VSS,        0,   mph,   /,   1.609344,
    PCM,SPARKADV,   SPARKADV
    PCM,IAT,        IAT,        0,   °F,    *,   1.8,          32.0
    PCM,TP,         TP
    PCM,KR,         KR
    -,WO2AFR1,      W02AFR1,    2,   :1 AFR,*,   1.0,           0.0
    PCM,AFR,        AFR,        2,   :1 AFR,*,   1.0,           0.0
    PCM,EOP,        EOP,        0,   psi,   *,   32,          -16.0
    PCM,DYNCYLAIR_M,DYNCYLAIR_M,2,   g/cyl, *,   1.0,           0.0
    Note the -,W02AFR1 line in there. I define is as having two decimal places however it does not do anything when viewed in custom units. It still shows as no decimal places. However it seems to have worked for AFR, and I used the same format.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting the record straight on Gen IV ADM/DoD and VVT
    By TBMSport in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2010, 05:56 AM
  2. Export data and decimal precision
    By Gelf VXR in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 4th, 2009, 05:12 AM
  3. Decimal, . delimiter
    By Lennart in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 7th, 2007, 06:06 AM
  4. scantool display to use as dash display?
    By ace68 in forum Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2006, 05:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •