Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on a TT408 tune problem..

Default Need advice on a TT408 tune problem..

I have been playing with the EFI Live for a couple months and are starting to get the hang of the tuning process...at least on a NA motor!

I have a friends car in the shop that is a F-body that has a 408 motor with twin turbos. The problem I am having is that as soon as the motor hits 4400 rpm's it just lay's over and drops off in power all the way to 6500. On the dyno it feels like the load has been turned up.

As a novice I am trying to get a good handle on a tune for this car. Someone had tuned the car before in which it ran worse then what I have gotten it to run. I think I have gone through all the basics and feel that I am either missing something stupid or I am WAY out in left field!

I started with a stock 99 bin and worked through every table. I have been told that the MAF may be the problem and the scaling could be off. The guy had a ZO6 MAF in which the scaling was incorrect. I loaded a stock ZO6 scale and no changes. I also checked to make sure that the PCM was not taking timing away for some odd reason and don't see it happening. There is also no KR and the WOT timing is a solid 21 degrees. The A/F is still quite rich but it should still not drop off in power as bad as it is. I have seen plenty of 10:1 AF that still spun up. The AF was 10.5:1.

On the dyno the car is pulling 7-8 psi of boost, all the way through the pull. I am looking for some direction as to what I should be looking for with a boosted application. So far it has been a hell of a learning experience and I have learned a ton. Now I want to get it running strong.

Any direction would be appreciated!

Howard

www.redline-motorsports.net

1-954-703-5560

2006 ZO6 895/866 with APS TT
    2010 SSRS Camaro HTR-900TT (798/801)
    2011 HTR-850R Camaro
    2012 ZL1 Auto (10.33@135 MPH) Video Here!

Lifetime Member

Default Re: Need advice on a TT408 tune problem..