Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: hydrogen

Lifetime Member

Default hydrogen

has anyone tryed a hydrogen generator yet. looks to good to be true but maybe with a tune and all the bells and wisels it may work.people are making hydrogen generators and putting them on cars claming big milage gaines. looks like with 02 tricking it alows you to lean out afr because the hydrogen can burn leaner.has anyone tryed it yet

I have some experience with this and can say that it didn't work for us. I was tasked with getting the vehicle to pass the FTP 505 test. We were able to make some improvements, but after we trimmed the proper amount of carbon out of the base AF we found that we were lacking a reserve of Hydrogen for the hard load pull in the middle of the test resulting in major Nox!

o2 sensor switch points were manipulated in order to offset the Hydrogen. Without this, the vehicle actually gets worse mileage on a narrow band feedback system since the Hydrogen makes it look like the AF is lean!

Regards,
    Scott Brown

Lifetime Member

i was thinking of trying to use it only for idle and low speed crusing that makes sence though its funny how many people clame it works one guy says his avalanch went from 14 to 34 miles to gallion boy wouldn't that be nice. i think a stick shift could be best with some bells and whisles to kick up the hydrogen perduction on decell.did you make your own generator ? i did one with a friend in couple hours it make 5 gallions in hour of hydrogen gas @24 amps.i am thinking needs lot more because its a gas not liquid be nice to know bsfc of hydrogen in a gas state

Do you use flat DC or pulsed DC (what frequency...?)...?

Lifetime Member