Thread: help please- wont idle

Default help please- wont idle

im trying to tune a 2002 pontiac firehawk-- vehicle has been radically modified,
    ls2-402 stroker, custom grind cam, 242 intake, 248 exhaust, lift .609 intake-.609 exhaust, 14 lsa, 12 psi procharger, -26cc forged pistons and crank, 225 afr heads 72cc, dual springs, trans-- perfomabuilt level 3, w/ 3200 stall, moser 9 in 370 gears
    i have installed custom os, and worked with some other people on getting this programmed- the vehicle starts then dies- cant get it to idle at all- im very new to this and very stumped- if anybody has any advice it would be highly appreciated- i have attahced tun file
    Attached Files Attached Files

looking at your tune file you are not running a custom operating system. but the stock one for 02.. with that big of cam and boost that you want to go to you should be looking at a 2 bar map with speed density

you also cut the spark but with that big of a cam you would need more spark

also it looks like there is a problem with your iac counts as they should be higher then 2, do you have a bigger hole drilled in the tb?

there is a process to dial in the idle called RAFIG which helped my car alot and looks at better idling variables

http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?t=4661

Lifetime Member

I'm no expert by a long shot but the first thing I notice is that your timing is so low at idle. I run a dragster so I dont have a street tune but I run 32 degrees at idle and it's idle dead smooth. 12 degrees is just way to low in my opinion, with a lot of cam overlap you arent giving it much time to burn the fuel.

Also your vacuum at idle is really low, my cam is a little smaller but is 55-57 at idle, maybe with more timing the idle will clean up...

Lee

230" Dragster - 2000 LS1, 02020003 Speed Density, PRC 2.5 Heads,
    MS3 Cam 237/242 .603/.609, Vic Jr. intake, Holley 1000CFM TB,
    PowerGlide, 5000 stall converter. 8.70@154 MPH