Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: MAFless??????

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Question MAFless??????

    I was wanting to know is it possible to run without the MAF in NON-Turbo,supercharged,etc. applications? If so are there any benefits? Also in MAFless applications what do you do with the wire from the MAF?

  2. #2
    EFILive Reseller ringram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,412

    Default

    Yes definitely. Most Oz blokes run mafless on stock setups.
    Do a google as its a minefield of arguments. But the main one is it allows a better intake without MAF packaging restrictions.
    Just tape off the MAF connection unless you need to pull 2 wires from the IAT feed in it.
    Get EFILive in europe (http://www.efilive.eu).
    2007 Escalade ESV L92 6.2L VVT.
    2014 VF SV LS3 Maloo.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Mafless is working wonderful for me .
    Roy 98SSSSSS

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,782

    Default

    Ditto here.

    Disable the MAF (see AutoVE tutorial) or remove the signal pin from the connector using a pick (you still need the IAT signal)...

    engine show still run (throws one of P0101, P0102, P00103 indicating SD mode now)... you may need to tune the VE table if you want it to run good.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks everyone for the feedback. I tried it out and it worked for me but I'm still having a few problems, I printed off some info for the tuning of the VE table (such as the AutoVE Tuning Tutorial) and running SD mode but I can't locate the Main VE table {B0101} and several more that I can't find. Is a Wideband O2 required to tune the VE Table?

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,782

    Default

    What OS are you using...?

    In the tunetool's search box enter B0101 (using uppercase B) and press ENTER.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	B0101.png 
Views:	160 
Size:	158.1 KB 
ID:	4027  
    Last edited by joecar; October 12th, 2008 at 08:03 AM.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    First off, what car and engine are you running? If you have an E40, E38 or E67 ECM then you wont have a Main VE table, you will have a Virtual VE table (plug your V2 into your pc then open the tune tool).
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,782

    Default

    Good point.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Its a 2007 Corvette with the 6.0

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    With the E38

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Going MAFLESS and O2 less
    By The Alchemist in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: February 12th, 2008, 08:08 AM
  2. Going mafless On a E-40...anytips?
    By FFP in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 13th, 2007, 05:40 AM
  3. Question about going MAFless
    By VortechC5 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 26th, 2005, 01:24 AM
  4. mafless/pcm
    By zrx1200 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 25th, 2005, 12:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •