Thread: Unstable Idle

Default 2002 Z06 Crazy Cam, Crazy Idle problems

Hey i have a 2002 Z06 with a large cam and exhaust. When you crank the vehicle the rpm jumps up to about 2000 rpm then falls to about 500 rpm and almost dies. It will then surge a couple of times then stabailize a 1000 rpm which is where the base idle is set at. what can i adjust to stabilize the idle, ive been racking my brain. It also sets bank 1 and 2 lean codes but runs a 12.8: 1 when on the throttle and about 14.8 to 15.2 a/f when crusing. and should i disable the rear o2 sensors before tuning. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by kmidkiff; December 2nd, 2008 at 05:12 AM. Reason: trying to get more involvement from forum

Lifetime Member

You've probably found it by now, but if you haven't, there is a tutorial for idle adjustments here on the forum.

wow dude sounds like you should start from scratch. go to the tuitorals section in the forum and STUDY all . im still learning,it takes months even for a mechanic like myself .

http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?t=4661
    http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?t=4504
    http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?t=2990
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turboavatar.jpg 
Views:	202 
Size:	6.6 KB 
ID:	4624  

Lifetime Member