Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Help! How to put tunes on my v2

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    81

    Default Help! How to put tunes on my v2

    I read somewhere I can put tunes on my V2 handheld and then put them on my truck without the laptop. If so, HOW?
    -John

    1989 RCSB 2WD Silverado w/6.0 swap, 216/220 .525/.525, CX Racing GT45 76mm home grown turbo kit,
    4L80e w/shift kit, stock stall and 3.42 gears.
    E85, 4200# with driver. 12.3@122.65 w/2.27 60ft on 11psi

    Turbo build:Click Here

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member 5.7ute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,782

    Default

    If you have done the latest upgrade. Use Efilive explorer to load the tune into your V2 data files.
    When connected to the vehicle with your V2 unit select tune tool/tuning(F1)/ program cal(F2).
    I havent tried it yet as the RR is still in my car. Full flash isnt supported as yet so you can only do the cal flash.
    Make sure in the V8 scan & tool you have loaded the necessary pcm files into the black box settings/ tuning settings tab.
    The Tremor at AIR

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    81

    Default

    When I try to program BB settings to the V2 I keep getting an Error:$0194 write failure message... If I just program the pid selection it works fine... Oh and when I copy one of me .tun files to the V2 under the tune section with the EE, it works fine but the file wont show up on the hand held when I look for it there
    -John

    1989 RCSB 2WD Silverado w/6.0 swap, 216/220 .525/.525, CX Racing GT45 76mm home grown turbo kit,
    4L80e w/shift kit, stock stall and 3.42 gears.
    E85, 4200# with driver. 12.3@122.65 w/2.27 60ft on 11psi

    Turbo build:Click Here

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member 5.7ute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,782

    Default

    Only program the pids & tune data for what you are flashing/logging. You will get that message when you dont have enough space in memory. So in my case I only have the ls1B settings checked.
    Joecar has been playing with this a bit so hopefully he will be in to help soon.
    The Tremor at AIR

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,231

    Default

    Also, to standalone flash you must open the *.tun file in V7.5 and resave it as a *.ctd format. The *.tun is not compatible with BBx functions, must be *.ctd.

    Read the release thread HERE
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    21,960

    Default

    LS1FREEK, do this:
    - read thread indicated by Erik in post #5,
    - install the latest V7.5 and V8.1 from that thread,
    - be sure to carefully read this before proceeding (see attached),
    -when you understand that doc, update the V2 bootblock and firmware.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    21,960

    Default

    Then when you have bootblock 2.6.3 and firmware 2.6.30 installed do this:
    - connect V2 to PC via USB cable,
    - start Scan&Tune (S&T),
    - goto Black Box Settings,
    - goto Tune Settings tab,
    - create an entry for your PCM,
    - Save,
    - Program.

    You may also want to goto Scan Settings tab and setup some pidlists, Save, Program.

    Then exit S&T.

    Open the tunetool, and save your .tun file as .ctd and exit tunetool.

    Open EFILive Explorer (EE), and goto the Data Files tab in the lower pane;
    in the upper pane locate your .ctd file and drag it to the lower pane;

    In EE goto the Config Files tab and verify you have these files (for example if your PCM is LS1B 1999-2008):
    - Options.txt
    - LS1B_A.pmm
    - LS1B_R.bix
    - LS1B_R.obj
    - LS1B_W.bix
    - LS1B_W.obj
    (example if you have the LS1B PCM).

    The _R files are required for reading the PCM.
    The _W files are required for writing the PCM.

    Then connect your V2 to your vehicle, select the menus indicated by 5.7ute above:
    Tune Tool->tuning->Program Cal
    then select your .ctd file and press OK...
    Confirm Yes if/when it asks you...
    When it starts writing you will see a progress bar...
    when the writing is complete, it asks you to turn off ignition key for 15 seconds, do this.

    Note: you would be wise to first read your PCM... if this works ok (take it to PC and view it with tunetool), then go ahead and write your .ctd file.

    Last edited by joecar; April 7th, 2010 at 07:25 PM.

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member macca_779's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Guys I'm having a small issue with BBF. I can BBR and then BBF that same file no problem. But if I load a fresh .ctd file that I made in the tune tool and then proceed to flash it I get a script error. I would have thought if it was a missing script for the LS1B controller I would never be able to BBF. So I got nothing.. Help please.

    Also are there plan to be able to dump files directly on to an SD card through a card reader without the need to use the V2 and EFI Explorer? I did try to see if it worked but the V2 wont see it.
    Last edited by macca_779; April 8th, 2010 at 12:05 AM.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Ok, joecar, i did all the stuff you asked for but i'm a little confused about the bootlog and firmware upgrade. Now if i understand correctly, even though my v2 control panel shows that my v2 has the latest firmware and bootlog, it probably doesn't? Because i never updated them through the EE, i just always updated them through the control panel. The simple way..
    -John

    1989 RCSB 2WD Silverado w/6.0 swap, 216/220 .525/.525, CX Racing GT45 76mm home grown turbo kit,
    4L80e w/shift kit, stock stall and 3.42 gears.
    E85, 4200# with driver. 12.3@122.65 w/2.27 60ft on 11psi

    Turbo build:Click Here

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    21,960

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LS1FREEK View Post
    Ok, joecar, i did all the stuff you asked for but i'm a little confused about the bootlog and firmware upgrade. Now if i understand correctly, even though my v2 control panel shows that my v2 has the latest firmware and bootlog, it probably doesn't? Because i never updated them through the EE, i just always updated them through the control panel. The simple way..
    LS1FREEK,

    V2 shows the correct versions (also note the dates).

    Using EE goto the Firmware tab and see what bootblock/firmware versions and dates it says...

    You would have had to use EE to program bootblock 2.6.03 and firmware 2.6.30 into your V2...

    Which control panel do you mean...?

    When did you purchase your V2 (to see which bb/fw it started with)...?
    Last edited by joecar; April 8th, 2010 at 03:36 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Converting DSP2 tunes to DSP5 Tunes
    By BlkMax in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 6th, 2009, 08:14 AM
  2. DIF OS Tunes
    By ColbyColorado04 in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 18th, 2008, 05:29 AM
  3. Need Tunes
    By evils1z28 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 1st, 2007, 09:40 PM
  4. any 5.3 tunes?
    By dynarex in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: May 30th, 2007, 02:42 AM
  5. Would unlocked tunes encourage you to pay for more tunes?
    By ringram in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 11th, 2005, 11:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •