Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 200-4r / 700r4 Converter lockup question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    32

    Default 200-4r / 700r4 Converter lockup question

    First off I need to make everyone aware I am an extreme noob (I'm sure that's obvious), so be gentle with me. Also, I searched for a couple days but have not been able to find a direct answer to this question.

    I'm working on a 2001 5.3L that is being swapped into an older vehicle which already has a 200-4r transmission in it. I would like to use the 5.3 pcm to control the TCC lock up function on the trans instead of the aftermarket vacuum actuated switch. How do I go about doing this in the tune software? Also, I'm unclear on which wire would actually perform this function from the pcm. Is it RED #2 "TCC Control Solenoid" or RED #42 "TCC Enable Circuit"? I have worked on a few LS swaps, but all the others have either been used with manual trans or non-lock up autos. I appreciate any help I can get on this.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Anyone???

  3. #3
    Junior Member FirstGenThree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I have similar project and intended on using the pcm to control lockup so I could have it in 2nd/3rd not just 4th gear. Right now I have a manual switch for 2nd/3rd and 4th is hot all the time. I drive around town in manual 3rd because 4th locked results in very low rpm/chugging. However 2600 stall is a bit wasteful on fuel (not horrible by any means). I will let you know if I successfully achieve this, though I have doubts because the pcm has no way of knowing what gear the trans is in. I've considered programming for lockup over a certain speed and using one of the vacuum switches inline to force unlock under load, but maybe the pcm can already do this based on map readings? I don't recall which tables are adjustable for lockup off the top of my head. Hope you have not given up on this, best of luck.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FirstGenThree View Post
    ...but maybe the pcm can already do this based on map readings?
    The MAP info is what made me think of this in the first place. Surely there is a way to turn that data into a line out signal through one of the wires. I have not given up on this by the way, glad you came along to breath some life in it. Let me know what you discover.

Similar Threads

  1. Torque Converter Lockup
    By 68showngo in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 13th, 2012, 09:57 AM
  2. Problems with Torque Converter Lockup
    By 2000Transam in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2011, 04:47 PM
  3. ls1 to t700 converter lockup
    By killalux in forum Conversions / Aftermarket Parts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 26th, 2010, 11:36 AM
  4. 4L80e converter lockup fix when letting off throttle?
    By chevyguy7802 in forum 4speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T42)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2009, 06:26 AM
  5. D5071 Full converter lockup?
    By DmaxHawk in forum Allison 5 & 6 Speed
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: February 21st, 2009, 04:16 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •